School of Education PhD Students

PhD Education & Life Long Learning 


UCD Shield

Deirdre Bennett

E-mail: deirdre.bennett@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: The Presentation Order and Education in Ninteenth-Century Ireland


Rachel Farrell

E-mail: rachel.farrell@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Pedagpgy for the integration of key skills in teaching and learning: A case for Ireland


Ruth Ferris

Ruth Ferris

E-mail: ruth.ferris@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: M. Michael Corcoran and the Global Expansion of Loreto Education, 1880-1915 


UCD Shield

Louise O'Reilly

E-mail: louise.o-reilly.1@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: The assessment of critical literacy in second-level education in Ireland: policy and practice


UCD Shield

Alan Ó Baoill

E-mail: alan.o-baoill@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: How actors responsible for policy formation in Irish education interpret, define and use OECD knowledge.


UCD Shield

Donna Callan

E-mail: donna.callan@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Teaching and learning English with the use of learning technologies


‌‌Herron Donald

Donald Herron

E-mail: donald.herron@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: The Evolution of In-Service Education and Training in Ireland 1950-95


UCD Shield

Ciara Nic Carthaigh

E-mail: ciara-mairead.nic-carthaigh@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Identifying Success: Language, Learning and Identity in the Liberian Early Grade Classroom


UCD Shield

Timothy O'Sullivan

E-mail: john.o-sullivan.7@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Leadership and Inclusive Education in the Secondary School Sector


UCD Shield

Claire Redmond

E-mail: claire.redmond.1@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: The Junior Certificate and Curricular Reform with reference to key skills.


UCD Shield

Ellen Regan

E-mail: ellen.regan@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Irish missionaries and volunteers in international education


Niall Watts

Niall Watts

E-mail: niall.watts@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Blending Learning in Higher Education What are the competencies of practitioners? How can they be  developed?


‌‌Sorcha Browne

Sorcha Browne

E-mail: sorcha.browne@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Cultivating Creativity in Maths: A multi-level intervention working towards a third-space approach to primary mathematics teaching


‌‌Shane Cusack

Shane Cusack

E-mail: shane.cusack@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Towards a pedagogy of poetics: the teaching of poetry and se cond-level education in Ireland


‌‌Gavin Murphy

Gavin Murphy

E-mail: gavin.murphy@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Post-primary leadership preparation: Past, present and future


UCD Shield

John Gregg

E-mail: john.gregg@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: 


UCD Shield

Elena Revyakina

E-mail: elena.revyakina@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: The use of technology to support COP and PLN: A Comparative Study


UCD Shield

Jane Burns

E-mail: jane.burns@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Medical humanities, teaching and learning applications and the use of historical holdings as education resources in medical education


UCD Shield

Aisling Whelan

E-mail: aisling.whelan@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Educational Provision for Students with Autism Spectrum Disorder in Mainstream Second Level Schools in Ireland


PhD Children & Youth Studies

UCD Shield

Danielle Douglas

E-mail: danielle.douglas@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Children Asylum Seekers Living in Direct Provision A Children's Rights and Well-Being Approach


UCD Shield

Laura Corry

E-mail: laura.corry@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: The study would base itself in international literature that states that culturally and linguistically diverse children from migrant backgrounds are disproportionately represented in Special Educational settings


UCD Shield

Mairead Mahon

E-mail: mairead.mahon@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: A sociological and ethnographic study of young people's experience of reduced timetables in second-level schools


Fionnuala Nig Shamhrain

Fionnuala Nig Shamhráin

E-mail: fionnuala.nig-shamhrain@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: A sociological and ethnographic study of young people's experience of reduced timetables in second-level schools


UCD Shield

Rowan Oberman

E-mail: rowan.oberman@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Global Citizenship Education and the Role of Children's Literature


‌‌Cliodhna Martin

Cliodhna Martin

E-mail: cliodhna.martin1@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Dublin as a child-friendly city: reality or rhetoric


UCD Shield

Aoife Crummy

E-mail: aoife.crummy@ucdconnect.ie

Thesis Title: Valuing The Past - sustaining the future - An intergenerational study of Education, Knowledge and Identity in coastal communities