ENERGY21 Programme
Marie Sk?odowska-Curie COFUND Action

Search Energy21 Site

Enter your site search query below.



UCD ENERGY21 Programme is established in the UCD Energy Institute and is implemented in collaboration with UCD Research. 

The implementation of the Programme is overseen by ENERGY21 Management Committee comprised of representatives from different sectors, from UCD and outside. The implementation and day to day running of the Programme is carried out by a dedicated Programme Manager.

UCD ENERGY21 Management Committee: 

Professor Orla Feely, Chair of the Committee
Dr Jennifer Brennan, Irish Universities Association
Dr David Foster, Career Development Centre, University College Dublin
Professor Frank McDermott, UCD Earth Institute, University College Dublin
Professor Federico Milano, Electricity Research Centre, University College Dublin
Mr John Power, Engineers Ireland
Mr Justin Synnott, UCD Research, University College Dublin
Mr Paddy Teahon, UCD Energy Institute, University College Dublin
Dr Michael Walsh, EirGrid 

Programme Manager:

Dr Ela Hogan, MA (UJ, Krakow), PhD (DIT), joined UCD in February 2014 as the UCD ENERGY21 Programme Manager. Before joining UCD, she worked as a Research Fellow on Marie Curie Industry?Academia Partnerships and Pathways Action, Value Ageing, at Queens University Belfast where she investigated how ICT developments impact older people’ living conditions. Between 2007 and 2013, Ela was the head of The Futures Academy at Dublin Institute of Technology, where she managed Academy’s operations as well as was involved in the majority of the projects carried out by the Academy as a project manager and/or researcher. Following her Masters in Socio-economic Geography, she completed a PhD in the area of urban planning and futures studies in 2006.  

Ela is a member of World Futures Studies Federation since 2005 and in 2014 was serving as a member of EC Expert Group on Responsible Research and Innovation Indicators. 




Co-funded by Marie Sk?odowska Curie COFUND Action of the European Union. This project has received funding from the European Union’s Seventh Framework Programme for research, technological development and demonstration under grant agreement no “609401”.