MA Scholarships, 2017-18 

School of English, Film and Drama 

We are pleased to announce that a number of scholarships are available for the School’s MA programmes for 2017-18. These include bursaries of €1,000 and one bursary of €5,000 euro which will be awarded to the highest-ranked applicant to the School’s MA programmes.

Applicants who wish to apply for the scholarships should submit a personal statement (1-2 pages) and a sample of written work (no more than 5,000 words) no later than Wednesday 31st May to the MA director of the course in question. Applicants must have already applied for the MA programme and received an offer or provisional offer.

These competitive scholarships apply to the following MA programmes and programme strands (names of course and strand directors given below):

MA in Literature & Culture:

-       American Literature: Associate Professor Nerys Williams, nerys.williams@ucd.ie

-       Gender, Sexuality & Culture: Dr Anne Mulhall, anne.mulhall@ucd.ie

-       Medieval Literature & Culture: Dr Niamh Pattwell, niamh.pattwell@ucd.ie

-       Modernity, Literature & Culture: Professor Nicholas Daly, nicholas.daly@ucd.ie

-       Renaissance Literature and Culture: Dr Naomi McAreavey, naomi.mcareavey@ucd.ie

MA in Drama and Performance Studies: Dr Finola Cronin, finola.cronin@ucd.ie

MA in Writing for Theatre: Dr Eamonn Jordan, eamonn.jordan@ucd.ie

MA in Theatre Practice: Dr Finola Cronin, finola.cronin@ucd.ie

MA in Film Studies: Mr Tony Fitzmaurice, tony.fitzmaurice@ucd.ie

 

Bursaries are intended for the 2017-18 academic session and are tenable for one year.

 

MA in Anglo-Irish Literature and Drama Scholarships, 2017-18

We are pleased to announce that three scholarships are available for students of the MA in Anglo-Irish Literature and Drama, constituting tuition bursaries of €5,000, €3,000 and €1,000 euro. These competitive awards will be available from the academic year beginning September 2018.  Applicants who wish to apply for the scholarships should submit a personal statement (1-2 pages) and a sample of written work (no more than 5,000 words) no later than Wednesday 31st May to Professor Anne Fogarty at Anne.Fogarty@ucd.ie. Applicants must have previously applied for the MA programme and received an offer or provisional offer.  

 

For information on the international scholarships Maria Helena Kopschitz Scholarship (Brazilian applicants) see here 

For information on the Gus Martin Memorial Scholarship (North American applicants), see here

 

Bursaries are intended for the session immediately following the award and are tenable for one year.

 

MA/MFA in Creative Writing Scholarships, 2017-2018

We are pleased to announce that two scholarships exist for these programmes: (1) MA in Creative Writing, tuition bursary of €5,000 euro which will be awarded to the highest-ranked applicant to the MA programme; (2) Irish Times sponsored Caroline Walsh Bursary awarded to the best Irish/EU graduate of the UCD MA in Creative Writing to enable her/him to take the UCD MFA in Creative Writing programme as a full-time student. 

All students who accept the offer of a place on the MA and MFA programmes are considered for the available funding. The selection panel for these programmes make recommendations to the course director, who will contact the successful candidates, usually before the end of June. 

 

INTERNATIONAL MA APPLICANTS

The School of English, Drama & Film typically offers 2-3 minor scholarships (25% fee remission) and 2 major scholarships (50% fee remission) for international students accepted to the School’s MA programmes. International applicants should contact the Head of School Professor Danielle Clarke (danielle.clarke@ucd.ie) for further details.