University Programmes Board

The University Programmes Board (UPB) reviews, approves and monitors the design, delivery, assessment and quality of the educational programmes within its remit and provides University level oversight for all programmes governed by the Undergraduate Programme Boards, College Graduate Schools, Programme Board, Graduate Programme Boards and Boards of Studies established by the University.

Show/hide contentOpenClose All

University Secretariat

1) Oversee the development, approval, review, and delivery of programmes by governing boards to assure compliance with Academic Regulations and the effectiveness and quality of programmes.

2) Establish frameworks for the development, approval, and review of programmes that delegates to Governing Boards or reserves to UPB decision-making as appropriate.

3) Ensure procedures are in place to monitor trends and audit decision-making with respect to –

  • Admission
  • Progression
  • Continuation
  • Completion
  • Recognition of prior or concurrent learning
  • Internationalisation of programmes
  • Internships and employability initiatives
  • Other aspects of programme design or governance identified by UPB or Academic Council

4) Develop policies, procedures, guidelines, and initiatives as appropriate to promote effectiveness, excellence, and fairness in the delivery and governance of programmes.

5) Adjudicate on applications for derogation from the Academic Regulations submitted by schools or governing boards.

6) Review the Academic Regulations at suitable intervals and where amendment is deemed advisable, propose amendments to Academic Council.

7) Recommend policies, and approve and oversee procedures and frameworks as appropriate, for the development, approval, review, and delivery of the following educational activities, to assure the effectiveness and quality of such offerings:

  • Internship and employability initiatives
  • Study abroad opportunities
  • CPD offerings by schools

8) In consultation with the Academic Council Quality Enhancement Committee, approve and oversee policies, procedures, and frameworks as appropriate for the governance and continuous monitoring and auditing of programme quality.

9) Request, receive, and review reports pertinent to monitoring and auditing the quality of programmes.

10) Highlight existing and emerging good practice examples and promote dissemination of such practices.

11) Consider such matters as Academic Council may refer.


Deputy President, VP Academic Affairs, Registrar (Chair)
Prof. Mark Rogers

Deputy Registrar, Graduate Studies
Prof. Barbara Dooley

Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Prof. Marie Clarke

Agriculture and Food Science Programme Board – Chair - Dean of Agriculture or nominee
Assoc. Prof. Eileen Gibney

Architecture, Landscape, Planning and Environmental Policy Programmes Board – Chair - Dean of Architecture or nominee
Prof. Hugh Campbell

Arts and Humanities Programme Board – Chair - Dean of Arts or nominee 
Assoc. Prof. Fionnuala Dillane 

Business Undergraduate Programme Board – Chair - Dean of Business or nominee
Assoc. Prof. Maeve Houlihan

Engineering Taught Programmes Board – Chair - Dean of Engineering or nominee

Law Programme Board – Chair - Dean of Law or nominee
Assoc. Prof. Paul Ward
Prof. Joseph McMahon

Medicine Programmes Board – Chair - Dean of Medicine or nominee
Assoc. Prof. Suzanne Donnelly

College of Health and Agricultural Sciences Graduate Research Programme Board - Nominated by College Principal
Assoc Prof. Helen Gallagher

Nursing, Midwifery and Health Systems Programme Board – Chair - Dean of Nursing
Prof. Gerard Fealy

Public Health, Physiotherapy, Performance and Sports Sciences Programme Board - Chair - Head of School
Chair TBC

Science Taught Programmes Board – Chair - Dean of Science or nominee
Assoc. Prof. Evelyn Doyle

Social Sciences Programme Board - Chair - Dean of Social Sciences
Assoc. Prof. Sara O’Sullivan

Veterinary Medicine and Veterinary Nursing Programme Board - Chair - Dean of Veterinary Medicine
Prof. Michael Doherty

Director of Graduate School – Arts and Humanities 
Assoc. Prof. Elva Johnston 

Director of Graduate School – Social Science and Law 
Assoc. Prof. Nuala Brady

Director of Graduate School – Engineering and Architecture
Dr Near Murphy

Director of Graduate Research School – Science
Assoc. Prof. Paul McCabe

Director of Graduate School – Business
Prof. Gerardine Doyle

Chair of Graduate Research School Board – Business
Prof. Ronan Powell

Chair of the Liberal Arts and Sciences Programme Board
Prof. Tasman Crowe

Representative of the UCD-IOB Joint Programmes Board
Dr Siun Hanrahan

Chair of the Academic Affairs Board of Studies or nominee 
Dr Áine Galvin 

Chair of the Global Engagement Board of Studies 
Assoc. Prof. Paul Fanning

Chair of the Research, Innovation and Impact Board of Studies or nominee
Prof. Suzi Jarvis 

Beijing-Dublin International College Academic Committee‌‌ – Chair - the Provost

Director of Registry (or nominee)
Kevin Griffin

Director of Quality
Dr Roy Ferguson

Three student representatives nominated by the Students' Union

Co-opted members: UPB may co-opt additional members for specified purposes and periods of time as non-voting members to ensure appropriate expertise is available to conduct its business effectively. 



UPB Meeting Schedule 2019/20


Submission Deadline  Meeting Date
Tuesday 13 August 2019 Tuesday 3 September 2019
Thursday 19 September 2019 Thursday 10 October 2019
Tuesday 5 November 2019 Tuesday 26 November 2019
Tuesday 4 February 2020 Tuesday 25 February 2020
Tuesday 17 March 2020 Tuesday 7 April 2020