UCD Home | About UCD | UCD News & Events | Virtual Tour | Contact UCD | Staff Directories | UCD Sitemap | UCD Connect

Melancholia

Melancholia, a two-day intensive, multidisciplinary seminar devoted to exploring clinical, theoretical and artistic approaches to the topic of melancholia, took place in the National Museum of Ireland - Decorative Arts and History in Dublin on Friday 7 and Saturday 8 November 2014. This seminar was organised by Dr Noreen Giffney (info@psychoanalyticpsychotherapyclinic.ie), Dr Tina Kinsella (tinakinsella@gmail.com), Dr Anne Mulhall (anne.mulhall@ucd.ie), Dr Emma Radley (emma.radley@ucd.ie) and Dr Eve Watson (eve.watson@independentcolleges.ie).

The event was organised and funded by the UCD Humanities Institute (www.ucd.ie/humanities), and co-sponsored by the Irish Institute of Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy (www.iipp.ie), the Irish Forum for Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy (www.ifpp.ie), the Association for Psychoanalysis and Psychotherapy in Ireland (www.appi.ie), and the Centre for Gender, Culture and Identities at University College Dublin. The event also included an art performance by Dr Amanda Coogan (www.amandacoogan.com). A number of podcasts were recorded at the event by Real Smart Media. As well as being streamed below, the podcasts can be downloaded via the UCD Humanities Institute Podcast Series on iTunes.

Friday 7 November 2014

Opening Remarks
Dr Noreen Giffney (Psychoanalytic Psychotherapist in Dublin and Lecturer in Psychoanalytic Studies in the Department of Psychosocial Studies at Birkbeck, University of London)

Session 1: What Is Melancholia?
Chair: Dr Noreen Giffney (Psychoanalytic Psychotherapist in Dublin and Lecturer in Psychoanalytic Studies at Birkbeck, University of London). Respondents: Dr Olga Cox Cameron (Psychoanalyst, Clinical Supervisor, Lecturer in Psychoanalysis at St Vincent's University Hospital in Dublin), Ms Isabel Nolan (Artist in Dublin, www.isabelnolan.com), Mrs Mary Pyle (Psychoanalytic Psychotherapist, Group Analyst, Training Analyst, Clinical Supervisor in Dublin; Lecturer in Psychoanalysis at Trinity College Dublin; Chairperson of the Irish Institute of Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy), Dr Moynagh Sullivan (Lecturer in English at Maynooth University).

Session 3: Responses to Lars von Trier's film 'Melancholia'
Chair: Dr Anne Mulhall (Lecturer in English and Director of the Centre for Gender, Culture and Identities at University College Dublin).

Response 1: Dr Caroline Bainbridge (Lecturer in Media Studies at the University of Roehampton)

Response 2: Dr Bice Benvenuto (Psychoanalyst, Centre for Freudian Analysis and Research in London)

Response 3: Professor Judy Gammelgaard (Psychoanalyst, Clinical Supervisor and Head of Department of Psychoanalysis at the University of Copenhagen in Denmark)

Saturday 8 November 2014

Session 4: Discussion of Cecily Brennan's art installation 'Melancholia'
Chair: Dr Tina Kinsella (Artist and Lecturer in Visual Culture at the National College of Art and Design in Dublin). Respondents: Ms Lisa Moran (Curator of Education, Irish Museum of Modern Art in Dublin), Ms Ann Murphy (Clinical Psychologist, Psychoanalytic Psychotherapist, Training Analyst, Academic Supervisor in Dublin; Lecturer in Psychoanalysis at Trinity College Dublin; Chairperson of the Irish Forum for Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy), Dr Emma Radley (Lecturer in Film Studies, English and Irish Studies at University College Dublin), Dr Medb Ruane (Psychoanalytic Practitioner, Clinical Supervisor, Writer in Dublin), Ms Marie Walshe (Psychoanalytic Psychotherapist in Dublin and Senior Lecturer in Psychoanalysis at Independent College Dublin). Discussant: Ms Cecily Brennan (Artist in Dublin and Berlin, member of Aosdána, www.cecilybrennan.com).