Humanities Institute Membership

Humanities Institute Members

Aidan O’Sullivan
Alan Peatfield
Alice Feldman
Amber Cushing
Andreas Hess
Anne Fogarty
Anne Fuchs
Anne Mulhall
Anthony Roche (Emeritus)
Arlene Crampsie
Aude Doody
Bettina Migge
Caoimhín Mac Giolla Leith
Catherine Cox
David Kerr
Diane Negra
Douglas Smith
Elizabeth Mullins
Emilie Pine
Emily Mark-Fitzgerald
Fiachra Byrne
Finola O’Kane-Crimmins
Fionnuala Dillane
Francesco Lucioli
Frank Lawrence
Gabriel Cooney
Gerardine Meaney
Gillian Pye
Graeme Warren
Harry White
Helen Lewis
Hugh Campbell
Ivar McGrath
Jaime Jones
Jane Grogan
John Brannigan
Jorie Lagerwey
Katherine Fama
Kathleen James-Chakraborty
Lee Komito
Lindsey Earner-Byrne
Lizbeth Goodman
Lucy Collins
Maeve Cooke
Máire Ní Annracháin
Manu Braganca
Marc Caball
Margaret Kelleher
Maria Baghramian
Mary E. Daly
Mary Gallagher
Meidhbhín Ní Úrdail
Michael Brophy
Michael Staunton
Muiris O’Sullivan (Emeritus)
Nerys Owen Williams
Niamh Pattwell
Nicholas Daly
Nicola Figgis
Paul Halferty
Paolo Acquaviva
Paula Murphy
Philip de Souza
PJ Mathews
Porscha Fermanis
Regina Uí Chollatáin
Robert Gerwarth
Roy Flechner
Sabine Strumper-Krobb
Samantha Martin-McAuliffe
Selena Daly
Sharae Deckard
Tadhg Ó hAnnracháin
Tadhg O’Keeffe
Theresa Urbainczyk
Ursula Fanning
Vera Regan
Wolfgang Marx

UCD Staff holding an academic appointment on a permanent or contract basis are eligible to apply.

Application Procedure:
Applications for HI membership may be made to the manager of the Institute at any time by emailing Applicants should include a link to their RMS profile as well as any additional information deemed appropriate. Normally, membership is awarded for a three year term. Membership can be renewed. The Director may also invite colleagues to become members.


  • Members who do not have funding for venue hire will have access to HI conference facilities free of charge. Where external funding or seed funding is available a facility fee may be charged.
  • Members can avail of administrative advice especially for funding applications and major events, subject to availability.
  • Members will have access to research space for doctoral students and/or post doctoral fellows under a member’s supervision, subject to availability.
  • Members may apply for HI funding for events, subject to availability.
  • Members can propose names for a HI visiting fellowship on behalf of visiting academics
  • Research, publications, and events of members will, on request, be promoted by the HI in email bulletins, social media and on the HI website


  • Members must provide information to the Director on research activities if requested by the director for the purposes of reporting. RMS profiles will be used where possible
  • Members should make themselves available if called on to participate in HI reviews or other institute-related strategic evaluations
  • Members will be expected to attend HI lectures and events where possible
  • Members will be encouraged, where appropriate, to acknowledge their dual affiliation to their UCD School and the HI in publications, presentations, reports or funding submissions
  • Members will be encouraged to interact intellectually with the HI graduate community. Members will be encouraged to offer master classes in their field of expertise to the HI community of early stage researchers