Migration and Citizenship Research Initiative
Alice Feldman, Fidéle Mutwarasibo, Steven Loyal and Denise Charlton at Government Buildings

UCD Sociologists Present Evidence to British-Irish Inter-Parliamentary Body Inquiry into the Integration of Newly-Arrived Migrants

Dr Alice Feldman and Dr Steven Loyal from the School of Sociology recently (16 June) presented evidence to Committee D - Culture, Education and Environment - of the British-Irish Inter-Parliamentary Body in conjunction with research on the integration of migrants in Ireland commissioned by the Immigrant Council of Ireland (ICI). They were joined by Ms Denise Charlton (ICI CEO) and Mr Fidéle Mutwarasibo, (ICI Research Officer and UCD Sociology PhD student) to discuss the findings of a report by UCD’s Migration and Citizenship Research Initiative for the ICI that they co-authored with Dr Bettina Migge (UCD Folklore/Linguistics) and Dr Mary Gilmartin (Geography Department, NUI Maynooth).

The BIIPB was established in February 1990 as a link between the Oireachtas and Westminster. The Body originally comprised 25 Irish and 25 British parliamentarians from the Upper and Lower Houses of the Oireachtas and Westminster. In 2001, the Body was enlarged to also include five members from the Scottish Parliament, five members from the National Assembly for Wales, five members from the Northern Ireland Assembly and one member each from the Isle of Man, Jersey and Guernsey Parliaments.

Committee D, which examines environmental and social matters of mutual concern to all Member Administrations, began its inquiry into ‘The integration of Newly-Arrived Migrants’ in March of this year and it hopes to produce a report comparing the success (or otherwise) of the integration of migrants in the Republic, Northern Ireland and Wales. The report aims to then make recommendations regarding best practice., and will be formally submitted to all the member Governments and Assemblies for review and comment. The Committee members include: Johnny Brady TD (Shadow), Lord Dubs (Chair), Senator Dan Boyle, Tony Baldry MP, Senator John Ellis, Jeff Ennis MP, Joe McHugh TD, Lord Glentoran, Michael Ring TD, Eddie McGrady MP, Michael D. Higgins TD, Chris Ruane MP and Dr. Dai Lloyd AM.

To receive a copy of the report, ‘Getting On: From Migration to Integration (Chinese, Indian, Lithuanian and Nigerian Migrants’ Experiences in Ireland)’ see http://www.immigrantcouncil.ie/publications_recent.php.