June 2014

UCD Medicine Gala Dinner 2014

Mon, 16 June 14 09:00

The 2014 UCD Medicine Gala Dinner took place in UCD O'Reilly Hall, Belfield on the evening of Thursday, 5th June 2014, following the annual Medicine Conferrings.  This black tie event was attended by over 600 guests including recent graduates, their families and friend, School and University staff as well as VIP guests from our clinical affiliates.  A range of student and teaching awards were presented by UCD President, Prof Andrew Deeks who was attending his first UCD Medicine Conferring events.

The Medicine Gala Dinner is the School's formal celebration of achievement, community and friendship.  During the event, individual achievement and academic excellence was recognised with a range of prizes and medals including student-nominated awards.  Among the prizes awarded this year was the inaugural Professor Peter Dervan Memorial Medal for Excellence in Cancer Pathology. 

The following individual student and staff awards were presented:

Student of the Year Awards

Biomedical Health & Life Science Adam Russell-Hallinan
Medicine Dr Robert Keenan
Physiology Mr Douglas Halligan
Radiography Mr Michael Oyuga


Subject-Specific Awards & Individual Medals

Undergraduate Prize for Physiology Mr Douglas Halligan

Geoffrey J. Bourke Medal

(Epidemiology, Public & International Health)

Dr Sean Murphy

Surgeon Hugh Boyle Kennedy Bequest (Surgery)

Dr Kee Yang Brendan Yap

Brian McGovern Perpetual Medal (Medicine)


Dr Sean Murphy

Sean Malone Medal in Psychiatry (Psychiatry)

Dr Barra Neary

1941 Medal (Academic Excellence)

Dr Sean Murphy

D.K.O'Donovan Medal (Academic Excellence)

Dr Sean Murphy

William Wilde Medal (Otorhinolaryngology)

Dr Lauren O'Connell

Paediatrics Medal (Paediatrics)

Dr Grellan Tuohy & Dr Sheena Coyne

Kirwan Medal (Ophthalmology)

Dr Norella Broderick

Prof Patrick Meenan Medal for Microbiology (Microbiology)

Dr Hannah Lucey

Peter Dervan Memorial Medal (Cancer Pathology)

Dr Joshua Belle

Teaching Awards

Prof Andrew Deeks presenting Teacher of the Year awards to academic staff at UCD Medicine 2014 Gala Dinner

Pre-Clinical Medicine

Dr Jane Dolan &

Dr Koon Meng Chan

Clinical Medicine

Dr John Seery &

Mr Gerry McEntee

Biomedical Health & Life Science Dr Orina Belton
Radiography Ms Marion Maher

Dr Stuart Bund &

Dr Katherine Howell

Academic Support Staff Awards

Academic Support Staff Awards - 2014 - Prof Deeks presents awards to Mr Gary Perry and Ms Judy Farrell - 580 x 290

Administrative Staff Award Ms Judy Farrell
Technical Staff Award Mr Gary F. Perry


For many the highlight of the evening was the address by Guest of Honour, Dr Anne Merriman MBE (UCD Medicine 1957), leader of hospice development in Africa.  Drawing on her extensive experience of working in palliative medicine, Dr Merriman's wise words were received by an attentive and transfixed audience.  Dr Merriman received the School's Honorary Fellow award in 2007 in recognition of her lifetime's work.  Since then she has received the Irish Presidential Distinguished Service Award for her charitable works (November 2013) and in February 2014 was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Selection of Images from the 2014 UCD Medicine Gala Dinner

Further Information

Further information on the 2014 UCD Medicine Conferring and Gala Dinner can be found here:

Report on 2014 UCD Medicine Conferring [More]
About Dr Anne Merriman [More]
Event Photographs - Conferring [More]
Event Photographs - Gala Dinner [More]