November 2016 | Samhain 2016

2016 NUI Dr H H Stewart Medical Scholarships & Prizes

Fri, 18 November 16 23:05

UCD was well represented among the 2016 NUI Dr H H Stewart Medical Scholarships and Prizes with three UCD Medicine students taking all three Pharmacology prizes.

UCD was well represented among the 2016 NUI Dr H H Stewart Medical Scholarships and Prizes with three UCD Medicine students taking all three Pharmacology prizes.

The National University of Ireland hosted its annual Awards Ceremony in the Royal Hospital Kilmainham on Wednesday 9th November 2016 where Dr Maurice Manning, Chancellor of the University, presented awards to NUI students and graduates.  In 2016 NUI has granted awards to a value in excess of €1.2 million to NUI students, graduates, staff and institutions.  At the ceremony, NUI honoured scholars of distinction at every stage of their academic studies, from undergraduates to senior scholars well established in their fields of expertise.

  • Elizabeth Murphy (Third Prize, Anaesthesia)
  • John Harford (Second Prize, Anatomy)
  • Jennifer Dowd (Commendation, Biochemistry)
  • Maria Malone (First Prize, Diagnostic Imaging)
  • Roisin Costigan (Second Prize, Diagnostic Imaging)
  • Siobhan Burrington (Second Prize, General Practice)
  • Laura Ridgeway (Second Prize, Obstetrics & Gynaecology)
  • Zara Togher (Second Prize, Medicine)
  • Shauna Callaghan (First Prize, Midwifery)
  • Emily Moss (Third Prize, Midwifery)
  • Stephen Woods (Second Prize, Nursing)
  • Ruth Ellard (First Prize, Ophthalmology)
  • Calvin Flynn (First Prize, Pharmacology)
  • Kira Casey (Second Prize, Pharmacology)
  • Esther Shan Lin Hor (Third Prize, Pharmacology)
  • Jennifer Dowd (First Prize, Physiology)
  • Niamh Cotter (Second Prize, Physiotherapy)
  • Cathal O'Leary (Third Prize, Public Health)
  • Nicholas Di Mascio (Second Prize, Surgery)

Assoc Prof Helen Gallagher with Calvin Flynn (First Prize, Pharmacology) and Kira Casey (Second Prize, Pharmacology).  Absent Esther Shan Lin Hor (Third Prize, Pharmacology)

Assoc Prof Helen Gallagher, UCD Associate Professor of Pharmacology with Mr Calvin Flynn (First Prize, Pharmacology) and Mr Kira Casey (Second Prize, Pharmacology).  

2016 NUI Dr H H Stewart Medical Scholarships and Prize

Full prize winners include:

SubjectFirst PrizeSecond PrizeThird PrizeCommendation
Anaesthesia Darragh McKeon (NUIG) Samuel Kehoe (UCD)  Elizabeth Murphy (UCD)  
Anatomy Brian Gordon (NUIG) John Harford (UCD)   Nicolle Clements (NUIG) Zahraa Al-Sharshahi (RCSI)
Biochemistry Elizabeth Maher (NUIG) Aya Al-Hasani (RCSI) John Tepper (NUIG) Jennifer Dowd (UCD)
Clinical Radiology Ciannait Lehane (NUIG) Clodagh McDermott (NUIG) Shaunna Kelly (RCSI)  
Dentistry Eoghan Flynn (UCC) Daniel James Chia (UCC)    
Diagnostic Imaging Maria Malone (UCD) Roisin Costigan (UCD)    
General Practice Emily Rutherford (UCC) Siobhan Burrington (UCD) Conal Houstoun (UCC)  
Gynaecology and Obstetrics Davina  Henderson (RCSI) Laura Ridgeway (UCD) Aisling Hennebry (NUIG)  
Medical Microbiology Sinéad  Flanagan (UCC) Ciara Ryan (NUIG) Alan Corkery (UCC)  
Medicine Eléin Thompson (NUIG) Zara Togher (UCD) Aisling Wright (RCSI) Clodagh McDermott (NUIG)
Midwifery Shauna Callaghan (UCD) Cait Ni Lionachain (NUIG) Emily Moss (UCD)  
Nursing Rachel O'Malley (NUIG)  Stephen Woods (UCD) Ciaran McClelland (UCC)  
Intellectual Disability Nursing Anne Marie Kelly (St. Angela’s College, Sligo) Barry O'Brien (UCC)    
Occupational Therapy Aine Blake (UCC)  Thelma Stell (NUIG)       
Ophthamology  Ruth Ellard (UCD)  Brian O'Tuama (UCC) Robert Whiriskey (UCC)  
Paediatrics  Clarissa Ern Hui Fang  (NUIG) Sean Brennan (NUIG) Sinead Spencer (RCSI)  
Pathology Esther Macken (NUIG) Sarvenaz Esmaeilzadeh (RCSI) Sinead O Riordan (UCC)  
Pharmacology Calvin Flynn (UCD)  Kira Casey (UCD) Esther Shan Lin Hor (UCD)  
Pharmacy Katie McCormick (RCSI) Tessa Jean Cagney (UCC)    
Physiology Jennifer Dowd (UCD) Wei Qi Vanessa Chan (UCC) Cara Pray (UCC)  
Physiotherapy  Eleanor Creighton (RCSI) Niamh Cotter (UCD)    
Podiatry Leanne Diviney (NUIG) Shauna Lane (NUIG)    
Psychiatry Jacqueline Sheehan (UCC) Sean Donohue (NUIG) Orla Hennessy (NUIG)  
Public Health Miray Unal (NUIG) Michelle Maher (NUIG)  Cathal O'Leary (UCD)  
Speech and  Language Therapy Rebecca O'Malley (NUIG)  Catherine Goold (UCC)    
Surgery  Laura Walsh (UCC) Nicholas Di Mascio (UCD) David McDonnell (UCC)  

Speaking at the event, Dr Manning congratulated the awards recipients and said that it was

‘a very proud day for the National University of Ireland, one where we can recognise and honour some of the brightest minds and talents across the diverse NUI community.’   

He went on to say that

‘to excel at this  level, in this company, is a major achievement’

noting that

‘those receiving awards […] have competed against the best of their peers across the National University of Ireland, which is the largest element of Ireland’s university system.’ 

Of the ceremony, Dr Manning remarked that

‘we are celebrating different manifestations of greatness – a great idea, great achievement, great scholarship, great promise.’

Over one hundred and thirty students and graduates from the NUI constituent universities, recognised colleges and other NUI member institutions were presented with post-doctoral fellowships, travelling studentships and other awards.

UCD, UCC, Maynooth University, NUI Galway, RCSI, St Angela’s College, Sligo and NCAD were all represented, as were the overseas campuses, the Medical University Bahrain (RCSI) and Penang Medical College, Malaysia (UCD).

Next year’s NUI Awards competition will open for applications in early 2017. Further information on the NUI Awards can be found on