School Management & Organisation

Key Management Structures

A‌cademic Units

School Organisational Chart - About the School - High Level Academic Units

Head of School

Professor Michael Keane is Dean of Medicine and Head of School. He chairs the Medicine Programmes Board and the School Executive Management Committee.  Professor Keane is supported by five Associate Deans, six Academic Section Leaders, 5 Directors of function and Heads of Subject.

School Executive Management Committee

The School Executive Management Committee is the most senior representative group within the School.  Chaired by the Dean of Medicine/Head of School, this committee comprises Associate Deans, representatives from each of the academic sections and the main research groups as well as senior administrative staff from across the School and College.  The School Executive Management Committee currently comprises:

Ms Elaine Bourke College Human Resources Partner
Prof Ronan Cahill Section Leader, Surgery & Surgical Specialties
Assoc Prof Marguerite Clyne Associate Dean, Research & Innovation
Prof Walter Cullen Director of Quality
Prof Gerard Bury Section Leader, General Practice and Forensic & Legal Medicine
Assoc Prof Suzanne Donnelly Associate Dean, Programmes & Educational Innovation
Assoc Prof Patrick Felle Associate Dean, International Relations
Prof Catherine Godson Director, Diabetes Research Centre
Mr Paul Harkin Director of Strategic Development
Ms Gráinne Keane College Director of Finance
Prof Michael Keane Dean of Medicine & Head of School (Chair)
Prof Fionnuala McAuliffe Section Leader, Women’s & Children’s Health
Prof Paul McLoughlin Section Leader, Biomedical Science 
Assoc Prof Jonathan McNulty Associate Dean, Graduate Taught Studies
Prof Yvonne O’Meara Section Leader, Medicine & Medical Specialties
Prof Louise Rainford Section Leader, Diagnostic Imaging 
Prof Owen Smith Deputy Section Leader, Women's & Children's Health
Prof Cormac Taylor Research Leader, Biomedical Science 
Prof Bill Watson Research Leader, Biomedical Science 

The School Executive Management Committee is supported by Ms Kasia Gaughan, School Office Manager.

Teaching & Learning Strategy Group

The School has established a Teaching & Learning Strategy Group comprising educational leads across all subject areas and education development support staff from across the School.

Following the appointment of Associate Professor Suzanne Donnelly as Associate Dean for Programmes & Educational Innovation and  Dr Jonathan McNulty as Associate Dean for Graduate Taught Studies, the work of this committee is being reviewed to align it with the School's key educational strategic objectives.

Research, Innovation & Impact Group

The School has established a Research, Innovation & Impact Group (RIIG) chaired by Associate Professor Marguerite Clyne and with representatives from each academic section across the School. The group is a consultative forum which aims to guide the development of the School's research strategy and inform development initiatives.  Current membership includes:

  • Associate Professor Marguerite Clyne (Chair)
  • Prof Cormac Taylor
  • Prof Denis Shields
  • Prof Fionnuala McAuliffe
  • Prof Walter Cullen
  • Dr Amanda McCann
  • Dr Helen Gallagher
  • Dr Louise Rainford
  • Dr Marcus Butler
  • Dr Peter Doran
  • Dr Tom Flanagan
  • (Surgery Representative to be advised)

The RIIG Reports to the School Management Team and contains a number of member of both the School Management Team and the School's Executive Management Committee.  Over coming weeks, the group will articulate its key projects and initiatives and it welcomes feedback from across the School's extensive research community.

Academic Support

Administration staff are deployed in a series of teams aligned to support the School’s key academic functions; including the Programme Office, School Office, Research Office, Dean’s Office & Development Teams on the Belfield campus as well as two teams (Eccles and Merrion teams) who coordinate student and staff supports across clinical sites.

Technical staff are deployed across the School to support specialist teaching and research activities and include technical staff who support audio-visual and information technology, anatomy dissection laboratories & our Body Donation programme, as well as pathology and physiology laboratories.  Technical staff are also integrated with research teams across all School sites.

Academic Support Units


About the School - Academic Support Structures - Organisational Chart - Level 2

Wider University Context

The School operates with executive authority within the College of Health and Agricultural Sciences, which includes:

The School is a principal stakeholder in several multi-disciplinary research centres including the Systems Biology Ireland.  We participate in thematic research programmes across the University and lead UCD representation on numerous national and international research collaborations (Molecular Medicine Ireland, Dublin Centre for Clinical Research, etc).