Irish Young Philosopher Awards | 15 May 2019

The inaugural Irish Young Philosopher Awards Festival (IYPA) was held on Friday 18 May, 2018 at University College Dublin. Over 450 people attended the festival to view philosophy projects presented by over 180 finalists from primary and secondary schools across Ireland. President Higgins, who was guest of honor at the Festival, spoke about the importance of philosophy for all young people in Ireland. The IYPA initiative was launched by President Michael D. Higgins and Sabina Higgins at Áras an Úachtaráin on Thursday 16th November, 2017.

The idea of the Irish Young Philosopher Awards (IYPA) was created by Dr Danielle Petherbridge (UCD School of Philosophy) and the initiative founded together with Dr Áine Mahon (UCD School of Education), in the College of Social Sciences and Law. The aim behind the IYPA is for primary and secondary school students to explore philosophy through a nationwide award program and festival. The students created complex projects and were judged according to their critical and ethical thinking, creativity, collaboration, philosophical analysis and innovation.

This year the festival will take place on the 15 May 2019.  The deadline for applications is 29 March 2019


This year marks the centenary of the birth of the philosopher Iris Murdoch. Murdoch was born in Blessington Street in Dublin in 1919. To commemorate her birth and her remarkable achievements as a writer and philosopher, the IYPA (in association with In Parenthesis) will hold a special project award in her name.

For this project, students are required to design the picture for a postcard that offers a representation of Murdoch’s philosophy. The postcard design may be a picture that represents any aspect of Murdoch’s work on ethics or what is termed ‘moral vision’

For students who would like to experience some of the atmosphere from last year's festival here's a short clip



School of Philosophy welcomes Mitchell Scholar in 2019

The School of Philosophy is delighted to welcome a Mitchell Scholar, Annabelle Curry, from Princeton University

Level 1 Philosophy Essay Prize 2017-2018

In celebration of World Philosophy Day, we are delighted to announce the winners of the inaugural Level 1 Philosophy Essay Prize. 

The Prize was instituted in the previous academic year and was open to any UCD student registered to at least one Level 1 Philosophy module. Entrants were invited to submit an essay on any topic of up to 1,500 words. We welcomed original essays; essays that had been previously submitted for assessment; revised versions of essays that had previously been submitted for assessment; and co-authored essays. Essays could be on any philosophical topic, but were to address a distinctively philosophical question using distinctively philosophical methods. There were a large number of entries and these were carefully read and discussed by a judging panel formed of members of the School of Philosophy. We were very impressed by the overall quality of the entries.

The winners of the inaugural Prize are as follows:

Julie Altemueller: Winner Philosophy Essay Prize 2017-18

Jack Hanafin: Runner up Philosophy Essay Prize

Matthew Tolan: Runner Up Philosophy Essay Prize

  Julie Altemueller, Jack Hannafin, Matthew Tolan, Dr Daniel Deasy, Prof Maria Baghramian and Helena McCann