Symposium Thomisticum

Rome, 4 – 6 July 2019

The fourth Symposium Thomisticum will take place in Rome, 4 – 6 July 2019.

The theme of the Symposium is Aquinas Philosopher Theologian.

Speakers will include Serge-Thomas Bonino, Kevin Flannery, Joshua Hochschild, Ed Houser, Gyula Klima, Siobhan Nash-Marshall, John O’Callaghan, Noreen O’Carroll, Paul O’Grady, Fran O’Rourke, Alice Ramos, Andrea Robiglio, Fáinche Ryan, Mary Catherine Sommers, Rudi Te Velde, Giovanni Ventimiglia, Jörgen Vijgen, Candace Vogler, Kevin White. Other speakers to be confirmed.

Papers are invited for suplementary sessions on the afternoon of Saturday 6 July 2019.

While topics on any aspect of Aquinas are welcome, priority will be given to those relating to philosophy and theology. To avoid overlap of topics, initial proposals should be sent by email to Fran O’Rourke, Emeritus Professor, School of Philosophy, University College Dublin (

The deadline for abstracts is 1 January, and for completed papers 1 June 2019.

Papers will be circulated in advance; summaries will be presented at the symposium: papers will be discusssed rather than read.

The registration fee will be €150 to include refreshments and conference banquet. Reduced student registration: €125.

Accommodation: Rooms are available at the Collegio Irlandese, €85 for bed and breakfast. All rooms are air conditioned; there is a swimming pool in the spacious grounds. Inquiries regarding accommodation at the Collegio should be directed initially to Fran O’Rourke

All inquiries to Fran O’Rourke, Emeritus Professor of Philosophy, University College Dublin (