Skip navigation

UCD Search


UCD President's Office

Oifig an Uachtaráin UCD

University Awards - Honorary Degrees

Bloomsday (June 16th 2011) Honorary Conferrings
Prof Ciaran Carson
Currently Professor in the Seamus Heaney Centre for poetry in Queens University Belfast, Professor Carson has a distinguished career as both a poet and author.  He has been recognised with several awards including the T.S Elliot Prize in 1993.

Harry Clifton
A UCD graduate Harry Clifton currently holds the Ireland Chair of Poetry. Harry Clifton spent several years teaching in Africa and Asia. He lectured in UCD until 2010 in the school of English, Drama and Film.

Paul Durcan
Paul Durcan won the Patrick Kavanagh award in 1975 shortly before which he published his first collection O Westport in the Light of Asia Minor. He won the prestigious Whitbread Prize for Poetry in 1990 for Daddy Daddy.  Durcan held the Ireland Chair of poetry from 2004-2007.
Michael Longley
Michael Longley is a leading poet of his generation. His book The Weather in Japan (2000), won the Hawthornden Prize, the T. S. Eliot Prize and the Belfast Arts Award for Literature. He is editor of 20th Century Irish Poems (2002).

John Montague
John Montague is one of Ireland’s most recognised poets. In 1998 he became the first person to hold the Ireland Chair of Poetry. Along with other numerous awards and honours, he has received the American Ireland Fund Literary Award (1995). His most recent work, Speech Lessons, was published in July 2011.

Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill
Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, one of Ireland’s most popular poets, published her first collection in 1980. She writes entirely in Irish and her work includes not only poetry but plays, articles and reviews. Ní Dhomhnaill has been recognised with several awards, including the O’Shaughnessy Award for Poetry and the American Ireland Fund Literary Award.

Garry Trudeau
(D Arts)
American cartoonist Garry Trudeau is best known for his Doonesbury strip which was first created in 1970. It is now appears in over 1,500 newspapers worldwide. He was recognised with the Pulitzer Prize for editorial cartooning in 1975.

Previous Recipients:

Bloomsday (June 16th 2011) Honorary Conferrings

Seamus Heaney