Skip navigation

UCD Search


UCD President's Office

Oifig an Uachtaráin UCD

University Awards - Honorary Degrees

Honorary Degrees are awarded to people who have distinction in the arts, science, or other field of scholarship or creativity.

Honorary Degrees 2009/10
Dec '09 Professor Patrick Cunningham
Chief Scientific Adviser to the Irish Government and Professor of Animal Genetics at Trinity College, Dublin, Professor Cunningham helped develop a system of DNA traceability for the meat industry following the BSE crisis and has been published in some 100 papers in refereed journals.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science

Mar '10
His Excellency Dr Ramos Horta Recognised for his commitment to human rights and his dedication to the establishment of the independence of Timor-Leste, President Ramos-Horta was jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1996 for his peacemaking in his home country and his continued peace activism.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Laws

Mar '10 Professor Denys Turner A UCD graduate, Denys Turner is recognised for his academic accomplishments in the field of theology. He taught moral and political philosophy at UCD for ten years while completing his D.Phil at Oxford University and is currently Horace Tracy Pitkin Professor of Historical Theology at Yale University.
Honorary Doctorate of Letters
June '10
Tom Arnold Chief Executive of Concern Worldwide since 2001, Tom Arnold is an NGO anti-hunger campaigner, member of the UN Hunger Task Force and chairman of the European Food Security Group.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science
June '10 Professor Tadhg Begley
A top chemist, Begley specialises in the field of chemical biology and natural products synthesis and is renowned for his research on the mechanistic enzymology of complex organic transformations.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science
June '10 Dr John Bowman Best known as the presenter of RTE’s ‘Questions and Answers’, John Bowman is a broadcaster, historian and political scientist, with a distinguished record as a commentator on Irish politics and contemporary events.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Literature
June '10 Dr Martin Carey
As a Medical researcher and physician, Martin Carey’s world renowned research on defining the physical-chemical state of bile lipids, as well as the discovery of the 23 Lith gene, has impacted greatly on the understanding of gallstones.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science
June '10 Professor Hélène Cixous French novelist, playwright and feminist theorist, Cixous is also a Joycean scholar who has produced well over 40 books and more than 100 articles including her doctoral thesis The Exile of James Joyce, or the Art of Displacement.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Literature
June '10 Matt Dempsey Editor and Chief Executive of the Irish Farmers’ Journal, Matt Dempsey is one of the foremost authorities on national and international agricultural policy as well as industry trends and has played a leadership role in his sector for over two decades.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science
June '10 Professor Raymond Dwek Currently Director of the Glycobiology Institute, Exeter College, Oxford University, Raymond Dwek founded the field of glycobiology and through this has made major contributions to understanding concepts in protein folding, immunology and virology.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science
June '10 Professor Thomas McCarthy Currently Emeritus John Shaffer Professor in the Humanities, Northwestern University, Thomas McCarthy has had a distinguished career in social and political philosophy and is especially recognised for his collaborative scholarship with Jürgen Habermas, Axel Honneth and others.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Literature
June '10 Dr Laurent Perret President of the Scientific Committee, Servier Research Group, Paris Laurent Perret has made a life-time contribution to pharmacological development, bringing together various branches of science and discovery with industry and funding agencies. Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science
June '10 Colm Toibin Recognised internationally after being shortlisted for the Booker Prize, Tóibín has published over 20 books since 1985 and received eight literary awards.
Honorary Degree of Doctor of Literature

Previous Recipients: