UCD Sport
UCD Search

News & Fixtures

News & Fixtures > NF > News

UCD are the 2009 League of Ireland Under-20 Dr. Tony O'Neill champions after a remarkable season for UCD AFC.

UCD are the 2009 League of Ireland Under-20 Dr. Tony O'Neill champions. The Students claimed the title after a stunning 5-3 victory over Salthill Devon in the competition final on Wednesday night.

Fans at the UCD Bowl were provided with an 8-goal thriller as the Students lifted the underage League of Ireland title.

Salthill Devon raced into a two goal lead in the opening 15 minutes, when Brian O'Grady netted a quick-fire double.
However, a Paul Corry goal brought the score to 2-1 at the half-time break and Graham Rusk converted a penalty in the 58th minute to level the score.
And just moments later UCD were in front when Sean Houston converted from close range, before making it 4-2 on 73 minutes.
Larkin brought the score back to 4-3 but Rusk scored UCD's fifth in the final moments to make it 5-3.

The success caps off a remarkable season for UCD, whose senior side reclaimed their place in the top flight of Irish football by winning the League of Ireland First Division.

UCD: Ger Barron, Gareth Matthews, Ciaran Nangle, Michael Kelly, Michael Leahy, Paul Corry (Danny Fallon), Keith Ward, Robbie Creevy, Sean Houston, Peter McMahon, Graham Rusk.