Skip navigation

University College Dublin Logo

Advanced Search

UCD School of Geological Sciences

Scoil na nEolaíochtaí Geolaíochta UCD

Welcome to the UCD School of Geological Sciences.

We are the largest Geoscience School in Ireland, bringing together the skills and expertise of 13 academic staff, seven support staff, eight contract research staff and 25 postgraduate students.

Our core undergraduate degree programme is a BSc degree in Geology in which the development of field skills is highly valued. In collaboration with the UCD School of Archaeology, we offer a Joint Major Archaeology and Geology BSc (Hons) programme.  We also have collaborative teaching links with Trinity College Dublin, the UCD School of Architecture, Landscape & Civil Engineering and the UCD School of Biology and Environmental Science.

We recently launched a NEW MSc in Petroleum Geoscience, a one-year course commencing September 2013, which builds on significant existing in-house expertise in the broad range of disciplines linked to the petroleum industry, including frontier exploration, rift and hyper-extended basin evolution, reservoir sedimentology, geophysical imaging techniques, fault analysis and reservoir and fluid flow modelling.

An emphasis in our undergraduate and MSc degree programmes is the provision of a sound academic training in independent observational and interpretational skills. Fieldwork training, in Ireland and abroad, is a key ingredient in our courses. Our degree programmes reflect the needs of society and industry and provide graduates who are internationally highly regarded.

As a dynamic and active research school our staff have been very successful in obtaining research grants, from national and international funding agencies and from industry. Our research is focussed through a number of research groups within the School, all of which publish regularly in international scientific journals. The School hosts the recently established National Centre for Isotope Geochemistry.

The School's main research groups are in the areas of Fault Analysis; Geochronology, Petrology & Isotope Geochemistry; Geophysics; Marine & Petroleum Geology; Palaeobiology; and Palaeoclimatology. All six research groups have strong international collaborative links.

The School of Geological Sciences is one of seven schools in the UCD College of Science. We are located on the ground floor of Science Centre West on the Belfield campus.

Professor Stephen Daly
Head of School
UCD School of Geological Sciences

Professor Stephen Daly, Head of School