Identity Statement for Séamus Hughes

  • Reference code: IE UCDA P148
  • Title: Papers of Séamus Hughes
  • Dates: 1910–c.1940
  • Level of description: Item
  • Extent: 7 items
  • Content and Structure
  • Conditions of Access and Use

Scope and Content

Album of songs and hymns, set to music by Seamus Hughes, with various texts, some by prisoners in Lewes Prison in 1917, others by prominent national figures such as Thomas Davis, Douglas Hyde, P.H. Pearse and James Connolly. Manuscript score of Wayfarer, music by Seamus Hughes, arranged by A. Keane, words by Padraig Pearse. Scores of various songs by Hughes (4 items) and of The Watchword of Labour, with words by James Connolly.


  • Access: Available by appointment to holders of a UCD Archives reader's ticket. Produced for consultation in original format. Original material will be retrieved at 11am and 2pm only.
  • Language: English
Twitter Facebook Mastodon. Instagram. Top