Professor Da-Wen Sun Elected President of the International Academy of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (iAABE)

Professor Da-Wen Sun, UCD School of Biosystems and Food Engineering, has been elected the President of the International Academy of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (iAABE), and become the Founding President of iAABE. Professor Sun is also one of the 33 iAABE Founding Fellows. Fellowship of iAABE is the highest honour in the field of agricultural and biosystems engineering.

The establishment of iAABE was initiated and proposed by Professor Sun when he served the President of the International Commission of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (CIGR) in 2013-2014. The main purpose of the Academy is to identify and recognise top individuals distinguished by their scientific and professional contributions to agricultural and biosystems engineering in the world. The proposal for establishing iAABE was presented by Professor Sun to the CIGR Presidium on 3 September 2013 during the 5th International Conference on Trends in Agricultural Engineering in Prague, Czech Republic, and was subsequently approved by the 68th Executive Board Meeting of CIGR. The proposal was finally rectified by the 53rd General Assembly of CIGR on 17 September 2014 during the 18th World Congress of CIGR held in Beijing, China. Currently the Academy has 33 Founding Fellows from 20 countries, consisting of previous CIGR Fellows and CIGR Past Presidents and the President, representing the highest academic level in the field. Starting from 2017, no more than 20 new Fellows will be elected every two years. The elected Fellows must be agricultural and biosystems engineers, who have made exceptional contributions in research, education and industry for advancing agricultural and biosystems engineering. The Academy is a source of scientific personnel and information to support international activities related to agricultural and biosystems engineering, and it will also act in an advisory capacity to CIGR.

Professor Sun has made very significant contributions to the promotion and progression of global agricultural and biosystems engineering. He has been involved in CIGR activities since joining UCD in 1995, and has served various key positions including CIGR President in the organisation. At the 4th International Conference on Agricultural Engineering held on 26 - 29 June 2016 at Aarhus University in Denmark, he was conferred with the title of CIGR Honorary President and also presented with the CIGR Merit Award for his distinguished services during his CIGR Presidency and for his outstanding leadership in food engineering in the world.

Professor Sun is a world authority in food engineering research and education. His many scholarly works have become standard reference materials for researchers in the areas of computer vision / hyperspectral imaging, computational fluid dynamics modelling, vacuum cooling, etc. Results of his work have been published in more than 400 peer-reviewed journal papers (Web of Science h-index = 72) with 35 papers being designated by ESI as highly cited papers. He is the recipient of numerous awards and honours including election to the Royal Irish Academy in 2010, selection as a Member of Academia Europaea (The Academy of Europe) in 2011 and induction as a Fellow of International Academy of Food Science and Technology in 2012. Among other international recognitions, Professor Sun was the recipient of the CIGR Fellow Award in 2010, the Freezing Research Award in 2013 from International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) and the IAEF Lifetime Achievement Award in 2015 from International Association of Engineering and Food (IAEF). He was also honoured as one of the "2015 Highly Cited Researchers" and "2016 Highly Cited Researchers" by Thomson Reuters.

Further details of iAABE can be found here: http://ciqr.org/Governance/academy.php