MSc in Petroleum Geoscience

A MSc in Petroleum Geoscience at UCD offers bright and motivated science graduates a vocational training in the broad range of technical fields associated with hydrocarbon exploration and production, as a prelude to a career in the petroleum industry or to further studies at PhD level.

The course reflects the multi-disciplinary nature of petroleum geosciences, with modules extending from the geological through to reservoir engineering, and including very significant components of fieldwork and practical experience of industry-style work. The course will be presented by staff who are international leaders in a variety of petroleum geoscience disciplines, including basin studies, deep water sedimentology, geophysics, reservoir engineering and structural geology: their work is amongst the most cited in the field and their technical innovations are incorporated in some of the leading petroleum industry software systems. Coursework will also be presented by several specialist external experts with many years of petroleum industry experience. You will have the opportunity to undertake projects with active and vibrant research groups using state of the art laboratory and computational facilities.

For more information on this course including modules, fees, entry requirements and how to apply please see the UCD Graduate Studies website.

 

Associated Staff

Below are the principal staff members associated with Petroleum Geoscience research and teaching, and their petroleum-related areas of expertise. Staff are linked to six established research groups in the areas of:

  • Fault Analysis
  • Geochronology, Petrology & Isotope Geochemistry
  • Geophysics
  • Marine & Petroleum Geology
  • Palaeobiology
  • Palaeoclimatology

Our staff include international leaders in a variety of petroleum geoscience disciplines, including basin studies, deep water sedimentology, geophysics, reservoir engineering and structural geology. Their work is amongst the most cited in the field and their technical innovations are incorporated in some of the leading petroleum industry software systems.

NamePositionResearchEmail
Assoc. Prof. Lawrence Amy Tullow Oil Associate Professor in Petroleum Geoscience Clastic sedimentology; Stratigraphic traps lawrence.amy@ucd.ie
Dr Conrad Childs Tullow Oil Lecturer in Structural Geology Fault analysis & modelling, & fault-related fluid flow conrad.childs@ucd.ie
Prof. J. Stephen Daly Associate Professor of Petrology Sedimentary provenance, deep crustal geology & tectonics, isotope geochemistry stephen.daly@ucd.ie
Prof. Peter D.W. Haughton Tullow Oil Professor of Petroleum Geoscience Clastic sedimentology peter.haughton@ucd.ie
Dr Ivan Lokmer Tullow Oil Lecturer in Geophysics Petroleum Geophysics, in particular seismology ivan.lokmer@ucd.ie
Assoc. Prof. Tom Manzocchi Lecturer in Petroleum Geoscience Fault/fracture studies, reservoir modelling & flow simulation tom.manzocchi@ucd.ie
Assoc. Prof. Patrick J. Orr Senior Lecturer Palaeontology and ichnofabrics patrick.orr@ucd.ie
Prof. Patrick M. Shannon Professor of Geology Marine & Petroleum Geology p.shannon@ucd.ie
Prof. Ian D. Somerville Associate Professor of Palaeontology Carbonate sedimentology ian.somerville@ucd.ie
Prof. John J. Walsh Professor of Structural Geology Fault analysis & modelling, fault/fracture related fluid flow john.walsh@ucd.ie