Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Governing Authority

The Governing Authority (GA) of University College Dublin, National University of Ireland, Dublin was established under the Universities Act, 1997 and is the direct successor of the Governing Body established under the founding Charter of University College Dublin (1908). The Authority currently in office is appointed for the period 01 February 2019 to 31 January 2024. 

Functions of the Governing Authority are (Universities Act, 1997):

(a) to control and administer the land and other property of the university,

(b) to appoint the chief officer and such other employees as it thinks necessary for the purposes of the university,

(c) subject to the Act and its charter, statutes and regulations, to determine the membership from time to time of the governing authority, and

(d) to perform such other functions as are imposed on it by or under that or any other Act or by its charter, statutes and regulations.

Governing Authority Membership 2019-2024

Marie O'Connor

Nominations from Organisations 
Charles Coase
Isabel Foley
Mary O'Dea

Minister's Nominees  
Noeline Blackwell
Dermot Lacey
Anne Marie Taylor

Lord Mayor of Dublin 
Lord Mayor Caroline Conroy

Elected by the Association of Irish Local Government
Cllr. John Paul Feeley
Christy Curtin
Cllr. Rosaleen O’Grady
Sinéad Guckian
Cllr. Emer Higgins
Cllr. Ita Reynolds Flynn
Cllr. Pat Daly
Pádraig Conneely

Nominated by the National University of Ireland 
Julie O'Neill
Liam McLoughlin  

UCD Graduates 
Clíona de Bhaldraithe Marsh
Eoghan Murphy 

Chief Officer 
Prof. Mark Rogers

Senior Officer - Registrar 
Prof. Barbara Dooley

Prof. Emma Teeling
Prof. Alex Evans
Prof. Dympna Devine
Prof. Geraldine Butler
Prof. Patrick Guiry
Prof. Michael Gilchrist
Other Academic Staff 
Assoc. Prof. Wolfgang Marx
Assoc. Prof. John Dunnion
Dr Kelly Fitzgerald
Dr Regina Joye 
Dr Mark Coen

Non-Academic Staff 
Claire Nolan
Helen Kenny
Hugo O'Donnell

Student Representatives 
Molly Greenough
Martha Ní Riada
Míde Nic Fhionnlaoich

Postgraduate Student Representative 
Marc Matouc

Total Seats: 40
Seats filled to date: 40
Seats vacant: 0

Please note these dates have been approved by GA but are subject to change. 

 GA Meeting Schedule 2022/2023

Submission Deadline

 Meeting Date
Meetings commence at 11 a.m. unless otherwise specified

Tuesday, 16 August 2022

Thursday 15 September 2022

Tuesday, 13 September 2022 

Thursday 13 October 2022

Tuesday, 15 November 2022

Thursday 15 December 2022

N/A - Strategy Session

Thursday 26 January 2023

Thursday 23 February 2023 

Thursday 23 March 2023

Wednesday, 19 April 2023 

Thursday 11 May 2023

Tuesday, 23 May 2023 

Thursday 22 June 2023

 GA, ARMC, FRAMC Schedule 2022-2023

Contact the UCD University Secretariat

Tierney Building, University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.
T: +353 (1) 716 1279 (general enquiries) | E: univsec@ucd.ie