Academic Council Executive Committee

The Academic Council Executive Committee (ACEC) sets the agenda for Academic Council to ensure that meaningful and strategic discussion occurs at Academic Council. The ACEC may also carry out functions delegated to it by Academic Council. 

Show/hide content Open Close All

University Secretariat

The ACEC shall, subject to review by Academic Council

1. Carry out any delegated functions assigned by Academic Council.

2. Act on behalf of Academic Council in intervals between Academic Council meetings.

3. Following direction from Academic Council, identify appropriate bodies for the development and review of university academic policy, oversee associated drafting processes, and approve minor editorial changes to policy.

ACEC Membership 2022-2023

Chair of Academic Council or nominee
Prof. Barbara Dooley

Secretary to Academic Council 
Prof. Barbara Dooley

Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Prof. Marie Clarke 

Dean of Students
Prof. Jason Last

Dean of Graduate Studies
Prof. Paul McCabe 

Chair of AC Committee - UPB
Prof. Barbara Dooley

Chair of AC Committee - ACCE
Prof. Peter Duffy

Chair of AC Committee - ACQEC
Prof. Aoife Ahern

Chair of AC Committee - ACCHDMA
Prof. Regina Uí Chollatáin

Chair of AC Committee - ACCAC
Prof. Alexander Evans

Chair of AC Committee - ACCSAC
Prof. Suzanne Guerin

Chair of AC Committee - ACCSCC
Prof. Michelle Norris

Chair of AC Committee - ACCASP
Assoc. Prof. Amanda Gibney 

Member of AC, Elected by AC
Assoc. Prof. Jos Elkink

Member of AC, Elected by AC
John Dunnion

Member of AC, Elected by AC
Assoc. Prof. Helen Gallagher

Member of AC, Elected by AC
Prof Emma Sokell

Member of AC, Elected by AC
Assoc. Prof. Jonathan McNulty

Member of AC, Elected by AC
Assoc. Prof. Paul Perry

Students’ Union President
Molly Greenough

Students’ Union Education Officer
Martha Ni Riada

ACEC Meeting Schedule 2022/2023

Submission Deadline  Meeting Date

Thursday 15 September 2022

Thursday 6 October 2022; 2pm

Thursday 5 January 2023

Thursday 19 January 2023; 2pm

Wednesday 8 February 2023

Wednesday 1 March 2023; 2pm

Wednesday 10 May 2023

Wednesday 31 May 2023; 2pm