Governing Authority

The Governing Authority (GA) of University College Dublin, National University of Ireland, Dublin was established under the Universities Act, 1997 and is the direct successor of the Governing Body established under the founding Charter of University College Dublin (1908). The Authority currently in office is appointed for the period 01 February 2019 to 31 January 2024. 

Show/hide contentOpenClose All

University Secretariat

Functions of the Governing Authority are (Universities Act, 1997):

(a) to control and administer the land and other property of the university,

(b) to appoint the chief officer and such other employees as it thinks necessary for the purposes of the university,

(c) subject to the Act and its charter, statutes and regulations, to determine the membership from time to time of the governing authority, and

(d) to perform such other functions as are imposed on it by or under that or any other Act or by its charter, statutes and regulations.


Governing Authority Membership 2019-2024

Marie O'Connor

Nominations from Organisations 
Charles Coase
Isabel Foley
Mary O'Dea

Minister's Nominees  
Noeline Blackwell
Dermott Lacey
Anne Marie Taylor

Lord Mayor of Dublin 
Lord Mayor Hazel Chu

Elected by the Association of Irish Local Government
Cllr. John Paul Feeley
Christy Curtin
Cllr. Rosaleen O’Grady
Sinéad Guckian
Cllr. Emer Higgins
Cllr. Peggy Nolan
Cllr. Pat Daly
Pádraig Conneely

Nominated by the National University of Ireland 
Julie O'Neill
Liam McLoughlin  

UCD Graduates 
Clíona de Bhaldraithe Marsh
Eoghan Murphy 

Chief Officer 
Prof. Andrew Deeks

Senior Officer - Registrar 
Prof. Mark Rogers

Prof. Emma Teeling 
Prof. Alex Evans
Prof. Dympna Devine
Prof. Patrick Paul Walsh
Prof. Geraldine Butler
Prof. Patrick Guiry

Other Non-Professorial Staff 
Assoc. Prof. Emma Sokell 
Assoc. Prof. Wolfgang Marx
Assoc. Prof. John Dunnion
Dr Kelly Fitzgerald
Dr Regina Joye 

Non-Academic Staff 
Claire Nolan
Helen Kenny
Hugo O'Donnell

Student Representatives 
Conor Anderson
Hannah Bryson
Ruairí Power

Postgaduate Student Representative 
Carla Gummerson

Total Seats: 40
Seats filled to date: 40
Seats vacant: none


GA Meeting Schedule 2020/2021

Please note these dates have been approved by GA but are subject to change. 

Submission Deadline

 Meeting Date

Tuesday 11 August 2020 

Thursday 10 September 2020, 10am

Tuesday 8 September 2020

Thursday 8 October 2020, 10am

Tuesday 10 November 2020

Thursday 10 December 2020, 10am


Thursday 28 January 2021, 10am

Strategy Meeting

Tuesday 23 February 2021

Thursday 25 March 2021, 10am

Tuesday 13 April 2021

Thursday 13 May 2021, 10am

Tuesday 25 May 2021

Thursday 24 June 2021, 10am