Humanities Institute Membership

UCD Staff holding an academic appointment on a permanent or contract basis are eligible to apply. Those with an academic background and still actively researching although currently working in an administrative role are also welcome to apply.

Application Procedure:
Applications for HI membership may be made to the manager of the Institute at any time by emailing Applicants should include a link to their RMS profile as well as any additional information deemed appropriate. Normally, membership is awarded for a three year term. Membership can be renewed. The Director may also invite colleagues to become members.


  • Members who do not have funding for venue hire will have access to HI conference facilities free of charge. Where external funding or seed funding is available a facility fee may be charged.
  • Members can avail of administrative advice especially for funding applications and major events, subject to availability.
  • Members will have access to research space for doctoral students and/or post doctoral fellows under a member’s supervision, subject to availability.
  • Members may apply for HI funding for events, subject to availability.
  • Members can propose names for a HI visiting fellowship on behalf of visiting academics
  • Research, publications, and events of members will, on request, be promoted by the HI in email bulletins, social media and on the HI website


  • Members must provide information to the Director on research activities if requested by the director for the purposes of reporting. RMS profiles will be used where possible
  • Members should make themselves available if called on to participate in HI reviews or other institute-related strategic evaluations
  • Members will be expected to attend HI lectures and events where possible
  • Members will be encouraged, where appropriate, to acknowledge their dual affiliation to their UCD School and the HI in publications, presentations, reports or funding submissions
  • Members will be encouraged to interact intellectually with the HI graduate community. Members will be encouraged to offer master classes in their field of expertise to the HI community of early stage researchers

College of Arts and Humanities

College Principal
Sarah Prescott

Art History and Cultural Policy
Emily Mark-Fitzgerald
Kathleen James-Chakraborty
Nicola Figgis
Paula Murphy (Emerita)
Roisin Kennedy
Victoria Durrer
Sean Leatherbury
Lynda Mulvin
Philip Cottrell

Aude Doody
Philip de Souza
Helen Dixon

English, Drama and Film
Anne Fogarty
Anne Mulhall
Anthony Roche (Emeritus)
Diane Negra
Emilie Pine
Fionnuala Dillane
Gerardine Meaney
Jane Grogan
John Brannigan
Jorie Lagerwey
Katherine Fama
Lucy Cogan
Margaret Kelleher
Nerys Owen Williams
Niamh Pattwell
Nicholas Daly
Paul Halferty
PJ Mathews
Porscha Fermanis
Sharae Deckard
Lucy Collins
Clare Hayes-Brady
Danielle Clarke
Treasa De Loughry
Sarah Comyn
Martha Shearer
Hannah Boast
Adam Kelly

Catherine Cox
David Kerr
Elizabeth Mullins
Charles Ivar McGrath
Marc Caball
Mary E. Daly
Michael Staunton
Robert Gerwarth
Roy Flechner
Tadhg Ó hAnnracháin
William Mulligan
Mary Hatfield
Jennifer Keating
Jenny Bond
Julie Powell
Aaron Sheehan-Dean, Mary Ball Washington Chair in American History
Lachlan Fleetwood

Irish, Celtic Studies and Folklore
Caoimhín Mac Giolla Leith
Máire Ní Annracháin
Meidhbhín Ní Úrdail
Regina Uí Chollatáin

Languages, Cultures and Linguistics
Bettina Migge
Douglas Smith
Francesco Lucioli
Gillian Pye
Manu Braganca
Mary Gallagher
Michael Brophy
Paolo Acquaviva
Pascale Baker
Sabine Strumper-Krobb

Síofra Pierse
Ursula Fanning
Vera Regan
Derval Conroy
Emer O'Beirne
Diana Battiglia
Mary Farrelly
Max McGuinness

Frank Lawrence
Harry White
Jaime Jones
Wolfgang Marx
Patrick Nickleson

College of Social Sciences and Law

Aidan O'Sullivan
Alan Peatfield
Gabriel Cooney
Graeme Warren
Helen Lewis
Muiris O’Sullivan (Emeritus)
Tadhg O’Keeffe

Arlene Crampsie
Kath Browne

Information and Communication Studies
Amber Cushing
Lee Komito

Maeve Cooke
Maria Baghramian
Katherine O'Donnell

Social Policy, Social Work and Social Justice
Ursula Barry
Naonori Kodate
Ernesto Vasquez Del Aguila
Joseph Mooney
Mary McAuliffe

Alice Feldman
Andreas Hess
Lea David
Rubén Flores

UCD Geary Institute
Catherine Elliott O'Dare

College of Engineering and Architecture

Architecture, Planning and Environmental Policy
Finola O’Kane-Crimmins
Hugh Campbell
Samantha Martin-McAuliffe

Mechanical and Materials Engineering
Lizbeth Goodman

UCD Research

Paul Huddie
Colleen Thomas

UCD Global

Shane Lordan