Republic Of Ireland

(Parties in order of age)

  • Workers' Party
    • Ireland's second oldest political party, founded in 1905 as Sinn Féin; renamed Sinn Fein the Workers' Party in 1977; dropped Sinn Fein part in 1982
  • Labour Party
    • appeared as a parliamentary party in 1922; existed at local level before this
  • Fianna Fail
    • founded 1926 following split in Sinn Fein
  • Fine Gael
    • founded 1933 through a merger of Cumann na nGaedheal (founded 1922 following split in Sinn Fein);Centre Party and Blueshirts
  • Sinn Fein
    • founded 1970 following split in "official" Sinn Fein; not challenged in its use of this name since the parent party became the Workers' Party
  • Irish Republican Socialist Party
    • founded 1974 following a split in Sinn Fein
  • Progressive Democrats
    • founded 1985 following split in Fianna Fail; dissolved in 2009
  • Republican Sinn Fein
    • founded 1986 following split in Sinn Fein
  • Comhaontas Glas - Green Party
    • appeared as Green Alliance in 1987; part of an older environmentalist activist tradition
  • Socialist Workers' Party
  • Socialist Party
    • new party, based on ideas of Marx, Engels, Lenin and Trotsky
  • Muintir na hEireannsmall
    • conservative party, founded 1994
  • National Party
    • party campaigning on Catholic values, founded 1995
  • Communist Party of Ireland

Page last updated 2009-08-31. Please email comments or suggestions to