Shared drives are spaces in Google Drive where teams can create and store files. They have their own section within the Google Drive interface. Individuals can be a member of multiple shared drives, each of which is shown in the 'Shared drives' section.
Every shared drive can have different members and permissions. Files and folders stored in a shared drive are displayed just like those in the rest of Google Drive. New files can be created or uploaded straight into a Team Drive and existing files can be moved into it.
How does a shared drive differ to shared folders and files within My Drive?
Files and folders that are stored in the My Drive section of Google Drive are owned by the account that created them. These files remain owned by that account holder, even if these files have been shared. When the account holder leaves UCD their account is disabled and then, 12 months after this date, the account is deleted from the system. At this point all files and folders within the account's My Drive (including files shared with others) are permanently deleted from Google Drive.
However, with files and folders stored in shared drives this does not happen. The feature is similar to existing shared folders in Google Drive but, unlike traditional Google Drive shared folders, files and folders in a shared drive are not owned by an individual user. Instead, they are owned by the team itself. This removes the risk of data being lost if an account is deleted after the holder leaves UCD.