Professor Oonagh Breen joins new Housing Regulatory Board

UCD Sutherland School of Law congratulates Professor Oonagh Breen on her appointment to the board of the newly established Approved Housing Bodies Regulatory Authority.  The board has been set up by Minister for Housing, Local Government & Heritage, Darragh O’Brien TD. Professor Breen joins the following distinguished individuals in a five year term on the board:

  • Edward Lewis (Chair)
  • Seamus Neely
  • Eileen Gleeson
  • Geraldine Hynes
  • Jillian Mahon
  • John McCarthy
  • Michael Cameron
  • Orla Coyne

The Regulator will have responsibility for establishing and maintaining a register of Approved Housing Bodies (AHBs), preparing standards by which AHBs will be monitored and assessed, and encouraging and facilitating the better governance, administration and management, including corporate governance and financial management of AHBs. The Regulator will also have powers to carry out investigations and cancel the registration of AHBs. Minister O’Brien commented on the new board as follows:

“I am delighted to establish the Regulator and appoint its first members. This is a significant development for the Approved Housing Body sector...Approved Housing Bodies play a crucial role across the housing spectrum; delivering much needed social homes, helping families and individuals to exit homelessness and supporting people to live independently in their own homes.”

The Approved Housing Bodies Regulatory Authority can be contacted at