February 2013

14 Stage One & Stage Two Scholars Join the UCD Ad Astra Academy

Thu, 14 February 13 09:00

Image [L-R]*: Fionn Nally, Nora Tadros (Stage 2), Jack McCaffrey (Elite Athlete), Niamh Conlon, Gráinne Larkin, Jessie Barlow, John Gannon, Sinéad Kilgarriff, Sarah Devlin, Ryan Gillespie, Diane Trenier, Sally McGrath (all Stage 1)

85 new scholars were welcomed into the Academy at an awards ceremony and dinner in O’Reilly Hall in January 2013. The Academy welcomed 14 new scholars from UCD School of Medicine and Medical Science. The scholarships were presented by Academy Director Professor Mark Rogers, in front of an audience of proud parents, school principals and UCD staff.

In total, 85 new scholars joined the academy. This year’s intake brings the overall Academy membership to 150. After dinner guests were treated to a performance by the Ad Astra Performing Arts scholars inspired by Yeats’ unique version of total theatre, combining drama, poetry, music and dance.

*Eithne Nic an Riogh and Oisin O’Friel are not pictured, as they were preparing for their performance.

More Information