September 2015 | Meán Fómhair 2015

Three Students Called up to National Squad

Mon, 14 September 15 22:45

Congratulations to Dora Gorman, Ciara Grant and Siobhan Killeen on being called up to the Ireland Women’s National team.  The three ladies were named among Sue Ronan’s squad of twenty three players for the forthcoming European Championship qualifier against Finland at Tallaght Stadium on 21st September 2015.  The match kicks off at 7:30pm and will be broadcast live on Setanta Sports. Admission to the game is €5 for adults and €2 for students and schoolchildren. 

The UEFA Women’s Euro 2017 qualifying campaign sees 47 nations compete for a chance to play in the Championships in Holland in July / August 2017.  Ireland has been drawn in Group 2 which also includes Spain, Finland, Portugal and Montenegro.  Hopes are high that the Irish team will qualify despite being seeded in third place in their group behind Spain and Finland.  For this tournament, the eight group winners and best six runners up qualify automatically alongside the hosts, Holland.  The final place will be determined by a play-off between the remaining two group runners up.

Although it has been a year since the last qualifying game – defeat to Germany in the final 2015 World Cup qualifier, the Irish Ladies have had a busy 2015 by taking part in the Istria Cup in March and friendlies against Spain, the USA and Haiti.  Manager Sue Ronan will want to make a good start in the first qualifying match against Finland which will be followed by an away game against Portugal in October and a home match against Spain in November.

“This is a big game for us as Finland are second seeds and, if we are to have any chance of qualifying, we will have to finish in front of them or Spain. We have a tough start as we also play Portugal away in October and are at home to Spain in November so it’s important that we get out of the blocks fast and put points on the board. With the top two likely to qualify there is a mood of optimism among the players but we have now got to get the job done. It won’t be easy but we are all very determined to give it our all.”

Republic of Ireland Squad (v Finland)

Goalkeepers: Emma Byrne (Arsenal), Grace Maloney (Reading), Niamh Reid Burke (Shelbourne).

Defenders: Megan Campbell (Florida State University); Meabh De Burca (Galway), Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Niamh Fahey (Chelsea), Louise Quinn (Eskilstuna); Grace Murray (Newry City), Sophie Perry (Brighton & Hove Albion).

Midfielders: Diane Caldwell (Avaldsness), Dora Gorman (UCD Waves), Ciara Grant (UCD Waves), Rachel Graham (Shelbourne), Siobhan Killeen (Shelbourne), Aine O’Gorman (UCD Waves), Julie-Ann Russell (UCD Waves).

Forwards: Carol Breen (Wexford Youths), Ruesha Littlejohn (Celtic), Katie McCabe (Shelbourne), Denise O’Sullivan (Glasgow City), Stephanie Roche (Sunderland), Clare Shine (Glasgow City).