February 2016 | Feabhra 2016

Students Share in Sigerson Success

Sat, 20 February 16 19:09

Congratulations to Ryan Wylie (Stage 4 Radiography) and 2015 GAA Player of the Year Jack McCaffrey (Stage 4 Medicine) who were part of the UCD GAA team that won the College’s first 2016 Sigerson Cup  in 20 years.  In a close fought match in difficult conditions at Jordanstown, the Belfield students were victorious with a 0-10 to 2-02 win over reigning champions Dublin City University at the University of Ulster.

The Clontarf man, McCaffrey had been a late doubt having been substituted with a knee injury in a facile semi-final win over University of Limerick. However he was passed fit to start in the first final meeting of the two Dublin teams in the competition’s 105 year history.

The UCD side started well but were dealt a blow when the lively Dublin forward Paul Mannion was forced to retire through injury on 15 minutes and when Niall Kelly received a harsh black card.  DCU levelled the score with a goal from close range and finished the half with a single point lead with the score at 1-2 to 0-4.  UCD took command early in the second half with a succession of unanswered points before a DCU penalty brought the sides level again.  UCD were not to be outdone however and held on with Man of the Match, John Heslin finishing with a tally of 0-6 (4f).

In a post-match interview, Heslin paid particular tribute to the late David Billings, who died suddenly last April.  Receiving the Sigerson Cup from GAA President Aogan Farrell, Jack McCaffrey also referenced the former UCD GAA mentor,

“He was a special man.  He always preached about how the Sigerson Cup was about the friendships we'd make, but winning this isn't half bad either.”

The Sigerson Cup was established by UCD Professor of Zoology, Dr George Sigerson in 1911 when he presented the distinctive four handled cup to the inaugural winners UCC.  UCD lead the roll call of Sigerson Cup champions having won the competition 33 times.