June 2016 | Meitheamh 2016

Student Awards 2016

Tue, 7 June 16 13:20

A number of student medals and awards were presented at the UCD Medicine 2016 Gala Dinner which took place on Thursday, 2nd June 2016 at UCD O'Reilly Hall, Belfield.  Awards presented included:

Student of Year 2016

Voted by final year students from each programme, Student of the Year awards were presented for each of Radiography, Biomedical, Health & Life Sciences and Medicine degree programmes. Awards were presented by Dean, Professor Patrick Murray and the academic programme coordinators, Assoc. Prof Louise Rainford (Radiography) and Prof Bill Watson (Biomedical, Health & Life Sciences) as well as Dr Declan O'Callaghan (President, UCD Medical Graduates Association).

Student of the Year 2016 570 x 570

Programme Student of the Year
Radiography Avril Lysaght
Biomedical, Health & Life Sciences Caoimhe Kirby
Medicine Catherine (Kate) Murphy


Medicine Medals & Awards

 Student Awards 2016 570 x 586

The following Medals and Prizes were also awarded based on individual academic student performance:

Medals & Prizes  Awardee
1941 Medal Dr Hannah T. Lucey
Surgeon Boyle Kennedy Medal Dr Robert Foley
Brian McGovern Perpetual Medal Dr Eimear O'Connell
D.K.O'Donovan Medal in Medicine Dr Cathal Niall O'Leary
Sean Malone Medal in Psychiatry Dr Aoife Maria Heeney
William Wilde Medal in Otolaryngology Dr Janelle Meara O'Sullivan
Paediatrics Medal Dr Robert Foley
Kirwan Medal Dr Jenny Russell
Geoffrey J. Bourke Medal Dr Rachel Dilworth
John McGrath Memorial Medal in Forensic & Legal Medicine Dr Ciara Hayden
Professor Niall O'Higgins Medal for Surgery Dr Hannah T Lucey
Philips Medal and Prize Ms Avril Lysaght
O'Farrell Medal Ms Ciara Crofton
Kieran O'Driscoll Prize Ms Zara Togher