June 2017 | Meitheamh 2017

UCD Radiography 2017 Conferring

Fri, 23 June 17 16:45

The 2017 UCD Radiography Conferring took place at the UCD O’Reilly Hall, Belfield on Monday 19th June 2017 with undergraduate and graduate degrees awarded by UCD President, Prof Andrew Deeks assisted by Prof Patrick Murray, Dean of Medicine & Head of School, UCD Medicine and Associate Professor Louise Rainford, Head of UCD Radiography & Diagnostic Imaging. 

In total 80 graduands were conferred with degrees of:

Degree AwardNo. of Awards
Bachelor of Science in Radiography 36
Master of Science, Computed Tomography 8
Master of Science, Magnetic Resonance Imaging 14
Master of Science, Ultrasound 22

In his address, Prof Deeks thanked the families and friends who have supported our students throughout their studies and he invited graduates to remain connected with the University throughout their careers, drawing on support from, and contributing in return to, the UCD Alumni around the world.

Graduates and their families gathered after the ceremony in the Kevin Barry Gallery at the UCD Charles Institute for a short reception at which a number of student prizes were announced.  These included:

 Student of the Year  Ms Alanna Barry
 Philips Medal  Ms Alanna Barry
 Deirdre Conroy Medal  Ms Amy Duggan
O'Farrell Medal Ms Rachel Moyter
Olive Fleming Medal Mr Tudor Varga
GE Healthcare Award, Magnetic Resonance Imaging Ms Cabrina McKenna

2017 UCD Radiography Student Medal Winners

Professor Patrick Murray (Head of School) presenting Radiography Medals to Ms Alanna Barry, Ms Amy Duggan and Ms Rachel Moyter respectively.

Dr Jonathan McNulty and Mr Tudor Varga, Winner of the Olive Fleming Medal 2017

Dr Jonathan McNulty congratulates Mr Tudor Varga, winner of the 2017 Oliver Fleming Medal

Dr Jonathan McNulty and Ms Cabrina McKenna, GE HEalthcare MRI Award

Dr Jonathan McNulty presents the GE Healthcare Magnetic Resonance Imaging 2017 Award to Ms Cabrina McKenna

The Radiography Student of the Year, the Philips Medal, the Deirdre Conroy Medal and the O’Farrell Medal were presented recently at the UCD Medicine 2017 Conferring Dinner.  The Olive Fleming Medal for the best clinical student is awarded jointly by UCD Radiography & Diagnostic Imaging and the Irish Institute of Radiography & Radiation Therapy.  This medal will be presented at the IIRRT annual conference in October 2017.

The UCD Radiography degree programme is the only undergraduate programme of its type in Ireland and is delivered by an internationally renowned UCD Radiography & Diagnostic Imaging group.  Almost all the graduating class have secured employment prior to the conferring ceremony and we hope to see many of the students again in UCD for higher specialist training as they progress throughout their careers.

We congratulate all students on completion of their degrees and wish them well in the future.

A selection of photographs from the conferring event are available on our Flickr site and on our Facebook page.  High resolution copies can be downloaded from the Flickr site free of charge for personal non-commercial use.