August 2018 | Lúnasa 2018

Anaesthetic Research Fellowship

Fri, 3 August 18 16:31

Congratulations to Dr Tom Wall (from Professor Donal Buggy’s group) who received the College of Anaesthetists of Ireland (CAI) Anaesthetic Research Fellowship for his presentation on The Effect of Anaesthetic Agents on Metastasis in a Mouse Model of Breast Cancer which won the research group a Scholarship prize of €25,000.  Dr Wall was presented with the Fellowship by CAI President Professor Kevin Carson at the Annual CAI Congress.  The award, previously named the Abbvie Scholarship in Anaesthetic Research, is funded by Abbvie and is awarded to support original research by an Irish non-consultant anaesthetist.

Applications are open from January and presentations are held in during the Annual Congress.  The competition is advertised by the Education Department (CAI), application information is available on the College website. The scholarship is advertised to all trainees who are contacted directly application information is also distributed around all training hospitals.

College of Anaesthetists of Ireland

Previous Winners of this award include:


Dr Tom Wall, ‘The Effect of Anaesthetic Agents on Metastasis in a Mouse Model of Breast Cancer’.


Dr Stephen Duff, ‘Development and comparative analysis of a novel 3-D printed epidural anaesthesia simulator’.


Joint Winner: Dr David Moore, ‘An investigation of the effect of pulsed radiofrequency treatment (PRF) of the dorsal root ganglion (DRG) on cerebrospinal fluid cellular and neuropeptide concentrations and Dr Mark Johnson, ‘Can perioperative lidocaine reduce metastasis in a mouse model of breast cancer?’.


Drs Colm Keane, ‘Cell therapies for Sepsis’ and Dr Kirk Levins, Effect of anaesthetic technique on immune cell infiltration in breast cancer: A prospective, ramdomised, investigator - masked study’


Dr Anne Doherty ‘Apelin, Placental Growth Factor and Soluble fms-like tyrosine kinase-1 at 14-16 weeks gestation in Pregnancies Complicated by early Preeclampsia and/or Fetal Growth Restriction.’


Dr Caroline Larkin ‘The Mechanisms of sepsis-associated thrombocytopenia and thrombosis’ and Dr Noelle Murphy ‘The Validation of urinary biomarkers of acute kidkney injury (AKI) post open aortic abdominal aneurysm repair’


Dr Noelle Murphy ‘The role of gremlin in the evolution of the acute respiratory distress syndrome’ and Dr Grace Donnelly ‘What is minimum training required for anaesthetists to be able to perform rigid bronchoscopy? A study in manikins’


Dr Robert Grealy for his presentation entitled ‘Transcriptomic Profiling of Monocytes in Sepsis’


Dr Stephen Frohlich “Signaling Pathways that Protect against lung damage in the acute respiratorydistress syndrome: Creb Responsive Genes in the Lung” and

Dr Mairead Hayes “Determination of the potential for mesenchymal stem cells to reduce injury and enhance repair following sepsis induced Acute Lung Injury”.


Dr Ivan Hayes ‘“Intralipid in Asphyxial Cardiac Arrest- A Laboratory Study’ &

Dr Criona Walsh ‘Volatile Anaesthetics nd Cardioprotectinon: The Role of Redox – Sensitive Inducible Modulators of Mitochondrial Energetics’


Dr Tanya O’Neill ‘Post – Operative Cognitive Dysfunction: The Contribution of General Anaesthetic Agents to its Aetiology and the Role cognition enhancing drug therapies in mitigating its development’


Dr Roger McMorrow and Dr Pádraig Mahon


Dr Martin Duffy ‘Modulation of endothelial dysfunction in the development of sepsis-induced acute long njury by hydroxyl-methyl coenzyme areductase in inhibition with simvastatin’


Dr Alistair Nichol ‘Characterization of the molecular mechanisms underlying the protective effects of Hypercapnic Acidosis in Acute Lung Injury’