Conferring & Gala Dinner | 2015

Congratulating the Class of 2015

The 2015 UCD Medicine Conferring took place at O'Reilly Hall, Belfield on Monday 8th June 2015 with 225 undergraduate and graduate entry students awarded degrees in Medicine. 

The annual conferring marks one of the high-points in the School's academic calendar.  The bestowing of the prestigious MB BCh BAO degree, took place under the direction of Dean of Medicine, Prof Patrick Murray and UCD President, Prof Andrew Deeks, presiding over his first UCD Conferring Ceremony. The graduands will now formally join the ranks of the medical profession, whereupon they will begin a year's further training as interns.

Gala Dinner and Awards

Later in the evening, the UCD Medicine Gala Dinner 2015 took place in UCD O'Reilly Hall, Belfield.  This black tie event was attended by 580 guests including recent graduates, their families and friend, School and University staff as well as VIP guests from our clinical affiliates. 

The Medicine Gala Dinner is the School's formal celebration of achievement, community and friendship.  During the event, individual achievement and academic excellence was recognised with a range of prizes and medals including student-nominated awards. A range of student and teaching awards were presented by UCD President, Prof Andrew Deeks.

For many the highlight of the evening was the address by Guest of Honour, Professor Bernard Kinane (UCD Medicine 1983), who was awarded the Honary Fellowship Award 2015.

2015 | Award Winners


Student of the Year Awards

Biomedical Health & Life Science Mr Hussein Jaafar
Medicine Dr Sorcha O'Meara
Physiology Mr Stephen Murphy
Radiography Ms Shafq Ahmed
Radiography Ms Shauna Anderson

 Subject-Specific Awards & Individual Medals

The Professor Niall O'Higgins Medal for Surgery Dr Michelle E Madden
Geoffrey J. Bourke Medal (Epidemiology, Public & International Health) Dr Derek Casey
Surgeon Hugh Boyle Kennedy Bequest (Surgery) Dr Niall P. Hardy
Brian McGovern Perpetual Medal (Medicine) Dr Louise Shackleton
Sean Malone Medal in Psychiatry (Psychiatry) Dr Fiona Lynch
1941 Medal (Academic Excellence) Dr Michelle E. Madden 
D.K.O'Donovan Medal (Academic Excellence) Dr Niall P. Hardy
William Wilde Medal (Otorhinolaryngology) Dr Naomi Smith
Paediatrics Medal (Paediatrics) Dr Michelle E. Madden
Kirwan Medal (Ophthalmology) Dr Ethan Jack Troy-Barnes
Prof Patrick Meenan Medal for Microbiology (Microbiology) Dr Daniel Kelly
Peter Dervan Memorial Medal (Cancer Pathology) Dr Maeve Jones O'Connor
McGrath Prize in Pathology Dr Catherine Murphy
John McGrath Memorial Medal in Forensic & Legal Medicine Dr Elaine Carty

Teaching Awards

Pre-Clinical Medicine Dr Tom Flanagan
Clinical Medicine Dr John Seery
Biomedical Health & Life Science Dr Orina Belton
Radiography Ms Marion Maher
Physiology Dr Stuart Bund 

 Academic Support Staff Awards

Administrative Staff Award Ms Anna Matuszak
Technical Staff Award Mr Peter McLoughin