Academic Units

Our Academic Community

The School prides itself on the diversity, experience and expertise of its academic staff.  Our academic community work collaboratively within subject areas, across sections or within research groups and centres, united by common academic interests and research investigations.

Academic Sections

Our School is organised as six academic sections, comprising teaching and research staff under the direction of a senior academic staff member (Section Leader).  Academic Sections are aligned around subject areas or clinical specialties.   

Sections are approved as fundamental organisational units within the University governance structures and several of our academic sections are larger than many Schools across the University.  This organisational structure promotes collaboration, communication and ensures operational efficiency with respect to resource deployment and workload planning.