Explore UCD

UCD Home >

UCD Boat Club wins Men's Senior Eight at Irish University Rowing Championships

Posted: April 11, 2016

  • UCD win three titles at Irish University Rowing Championships

UCD Boat Club has won the Men’s Senior Eight race at the Irish University Rowing Championships.

They came out on top during a close finish to win their final by a half-length ahead of Trinity College (racing as Dublin University). NUI Galway finished in third with University College Cork in fourth.

The winning UCD crew were Eoin Gleeson, Piers Ryan, Turlough Hughes, Andrew Griffin, Eoghan O’Connor, Max Murphy, Shane Mulvaney, David O’Malley and coxswain Orlagh Reid.

Two of them, Shane Mulvaney and David O'Malley, also won the Men's Senior coxless pair earlier in the day. They claimed the title by six lengths from NUI Galway.

UCD Ladies Boat Club claimed the Women's Novice Eight race with a two-and-a-half length victory ahead of Trinity College A. Queen's University finished third with Trinity College B fourth.

The UCD crew were Hannah McDevitt, Helen Kirrane, Sophie Melvin, Clíodhna Goodrich, Emer Finnegan, Gersende Youl, Rachel Ryan, Katie Murphy and coxswain Síne Ní Fhinn.

By: Jonny Baxter, digital journalist, UCD University Relations