Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Collingwood Cup: UCD claim university title for 49th time with 3-2 win over Limerick

Posted 16 February, 2023

UCD has retained the Irish Universities Collingwood Cup following a 3-2 win over University of Limerick, winning the biggest competition in third level soccer for an astounding 49th time.

Following a second half flurry of goals at the hour mark, it was a finisher from Ronan Cowhey in extra time that saw Belfield clinch the game and the title.

A well placed header from the substitute found the net following a delivery from UCD captain Jack Keaney.

Earlier in the game, Ciarán Behan put UCD in front for the first time at 63 minutes. And he did so again minutes later after a Limerick equaliser from Tom Carney.

Featuring university teams from the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland, the Collingwood Cup is the oldest surviving all Ireland association football competition.

UCD: Lorcan Healy; Sean Carmody, Michael Gallagher, Jack Keaney, Shane McCreery; Rossa McAllister, Dara Keane, Donal Higgins; Billy Griffin, Danu Kinsella Bishop, Ciaran Behan.

Subs: Ronan Cowhey (for Griffin 57). Not used: Gearoid Mulligan, Ryan Bowden, Matthew Scott, Gavin McConville, Danny Norris, Ben Callan

University of Limerick: Josh Coady; Cullen McCabe, Conor Whittle, Tom Carney, Joey Rushe; Darren Butler, Eoin Redmond; Tom Kidd, David McCarthy, Conor Butler; Adam Foley.

Subs: Leon Daly (for McCarthy 25), Ciaran Jennings (for C Butler 63), Cillian Duffy for Kidd 74),Dean Hegarty (for McCabe 74). Not used: Ewan O’Brien, Theo Joyce, Oleg Vrysochan.

Referee: Aaron Rainey

By: David Kearns, Digital Journalist / Media Officer, UCD University Relations