Skip navigation

UCD Search


UCD President's Office

Oifig an Uachtaráin UCD

University Awards - Awards for Excellence in Student Activities

The President’s Awards each year provide recognition for those students who excel in extracurricular activities of a kind that make UCD an exciting, interesting, dynamic and humane place to live, study and work. Staff and students at UCD are invited to nominate candidates for these awards.

2009/10 Recipients
Name of Recipient Details
Course Details
Barry Colfer Honoured for his many contributions to student life but particularly for his advocacy and management of the Please Talk campaign.
4th Year Business & Legal Studies
James Ian Dalton Selected for his major contributions to the work of student societies in the Law School.
Details 4th Year Business & Legal Studies
Maurice Deasy Recognised for his leadership in the rapidly developing volunteering activity on campus and his work in India and Tanzania.
Graduate of Engineering 2010
Donald Goggin Recognised for his outstanding leadership among the students of Agricultural Science.
Graduate of Agricultural Science 2010
Ian Hastings Selected for being a great all-rounder on campus and contributing his debating talents in the L&H.
3rd Year Law
Aidan Jones Honoured for his work with the university’s St Vincent de Paul Society which makes a significant input to the organisation’s work in Dublin.
Graduate of Engineering 2010
Catriona Laverty Recognised for being a tireless part of the staff – and this year’s editor – of the primary organ of news and opinion on campus – the University Observer.
Graduate of Medicine 2009
Rob Lowney Selected for being a great all-rounder who has been editor of the University Observer and has contributed to the ERA program
Graduate of Arts 2009
Jason Masterson Selected for his major contributions to the work of DramSoc and excelling as producer of the UCD Musical.
Graduate of Arts 2008
Aoife Nic Shamhráin Excelled in the development of Irish language activities within the Students’ Union and across campus.
2nd Year Medicine
Eoghan Ó Braonáin Recognised for his work as station manager of Belfield FM and bringing a new level of professionalism to student radio on campus.
Graduate of Commerce 2010
Aodhán Ó Deá Awarded for promoting Irish language activities both within UCD and through the Union of Students in Ireland.
4th Year Business & Legal Studies
Patrick O’Leary Recognised as the driving force behind the development of Lacrosse as a major sporting club on campus and on the development of the sport in Ireland.
1st year PhD Doctor of Philosophy
Ruth O’Mahony-Brady Honoured for her contribution to musical activities on campus both in the UCD Symphony Orchestra and as a member of the Choral Scholars.
2nd Year Music
Megan Tennant Humphreys Selected for her major contributions to Ladies Hockey both in UCD, as club captain, and as a member of the Irish national team.
Graduate of Physiotherapy 2010

Past Winners:

Students outside library