Explore UCD

UCD Home >

2021 Welcome

2021 Welcome to the UCD School of Psychology

We are looking forward to welcoming new and returning students in September 2021 to the School and to our newly renovated spaces in F2 & E1 in the Newman Building. Planning for the coming academic year remains challenging as the COVID-19 situation continues to impact around the world. Returning students will find that we have introduced new procedures to help us respond to student queries and support your participation as a member of the School.

We encourage all staff and students to be familiar with the most up-to-date information on UCD’s COVID-19 arrangements (www.ucd.ie/covid-19/ ). We are working to support the containment of the virus and continue to ensure full compliance with public health guidelines in all aspects of our operations. UCD is working with the Irish Universities Association and the new Department of Higher Education to ensure that a safe and consistent approach to face-to-face teaching is taken across the sector and that health risks posed to students returning to UCD are appropriately and effectively mitigated.  The health and safety of our students and staff are our main concerns, and UCD has put appropriate social distancing and cleaning measures in place in advance of the start of term.  The university’s inductions will highlight these measures to you.

Staff Contacts

 if you have a query relating to registration, please send an email to psychology@ucd.ie

For detailed information on School staff visit https://www.ucd.ie/psychology/ourpeople/

The majority of faculty, technical and administrative staff will be on campus and available to meet by appointment, in person or remotely as is most appropriate. The School will have limited in-person drop-in opportunities; however, staff can be contacted by email. Our Head of School is Prof. Suzanne Guerin (suzanne.guerin@ucd.ie). Key staff for our programmes are listed below:

BSc/BSc International in Psychology Higher Diploma in Psychology
Tanja Junghenn  tanja.jugnhenn@ucd.ie
Eimear Kelly  eimear.Kelly1@ucd.ie
Tanja Junghenn  tanja.jugnhenn@ucd.ie
Eimear Kelly  eimear.Kelly1@ucd.ie

Dr Mick O’Connell – Programme Director

michael.f.oconnell@ucd.ie

Dr Ciara Greene – Programme Director

ciara.greene@ucd.ie

Dr Sonya Descheneear - One Coordinator

sonya.deschenes@ucd.ie 

 

Dr Sarah Cooney- Year Two Coordinator

Sarah.Cooney@ucd.ie

 

Dr Cliodhna O'Connor - Year Three Coordinator

cliodhna.oconnor1@ucd.ie

 
Masters in Psychological Science MSc in Mindfulness-based Interventions

Ms Mary Boyle – Programme Administrator

Mary.Boyle@ucd.ie    

Ms Mary Boyle – Programme Administrator

Mary.Boyle@ucd.ie    

Dr Patricia Gough – Programme Director

Patricia.Gough@ucd.ie

Dr Paul D’Alton – Programme Director

Paul.Dalton@ucd.ie

Amanda Fitzgerald  – Programme Director

amanda.fitzgerald@ucd.ie 

Prof Louise McHugh – Programme Director

Louise.McHugh@ucd.ie

Masters in Behavioural Neuroscience MSc in Disability

Ms Mary Boyle – Programme Administrator

Mary.Boyle@ucd.ie    

Ms Mary Boyle – Programme Administrator

Mary.Boyle@ucd.ie    

Dr Nuala Brady – Programme Director

Nuala.Brady@ucd.ie

Dr Christine Linehan – Programme Director

Christine.Linehan@ucd.ie

 

Dr Flavia Santos – Programme Director

Flavia.Santos@ucd.ie

MLitt/PhD Programme Doctoral Programme in Clinical Psychology

Ms Muriel Keegan – Programme Administrator

Muriel.Keegan@ucd.ie    

Ms Muriel Keegan – Programme Administrator

muriel.keegan@ucd.ie

Dr Brendan Rooney – Programme Director

brendan.rooney@ucd.ie

Prof. Alan Carr - Programme Director

alan.carr@ucd.ie

 

Prof. Gary O'Reilly - Programme Director

gary.e.oreilly@ucd.ie

Information on Teaching and Assessment in Psychology

 Your timetable information for the Autumn Trimester will be made available via SISWeb following registration. The aim for the coming trimester is to deliver our programmes in the most effective way, while also protecting staff and students.  

Supports in UCD

The transition to blended learning (a combination of online and campus-based classes) can be daunting so the Access and Lifelong Learning unit have developed some resources that are available here.  

One of the most important points of contact for students is your Student Adviser. They offer practical and emotional support for students within the College. Our dedicated Adviser in the College of Social Sciences and Law is Kieran Moloney, kieran.moloney@ucd.ie  For Graduate Research students, your Student Adviser is Carita Bramhill, carita.bramhill@ucd.ie

We are also aware that students can face huge financial burdens while attending college. Information on financial supports available to students within UCD can be found here.

UCD School of Psychology

Newman Building, University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.