News Archive 2014

UCD Prof Dolores O’Riordan is named on Minister Coveney’s Strategy Committee to deliver the new 2025 Agri-Food Strategy

Wednesday, 03 December, 2014 

The Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Simon Coveney, TD has announced his plans for a new Agri-Food Strategy up to 2025. “This Strategy will be developed by a Committee of leading figures from the agri-food sector and will set out the key actions required to maximise the contribution of the sector to economic growth, job creation and environmental sustainability over the next decade”.  The Minister said that he expected the new Strategy to be published in July 2015.

Minister Coveney announced that Mr John Moloney is to chair the Strategy Committee and expressed his “deep appreciation to him for having agreed to serve in this role”. The Committee consists of highly respected people with a deep knowledge and understanding of the sector in all its dimensions. Director of  UCD’s Institute of Food and Health, Professor Dolores O’Riordan has also been announced as a member of the committee.

The Minister has opened a public consultation on the Strategy, with submissions invited from both organisations and individuals.
The Minister said that the agri-food sector has already demonstrated a capacity for growth and development, even in the most challenging times.  “It is clear to me that much more can be achieved if we focus our efforts on the extraordinary opportunities presented by growing global food demand.  This will require us to be ambitious – indeed world leading – in innovation, sustainability, food safety, quality and competiveness across all our key product sectors, building on our already high reputation in these areas.”

The Minister underlined the significant progress made over the last four and half years, as the Food Harvest 2020 vision of ‘smart, green, growth’ has been made reality through hard work at all stages of the food chain, from farm level to food companies, and from research and advisory services to enhanced branding and promotion in our expanding world markets.  The recently launched Milestones for Success 2014 showed in detail the real progress achieved since the Food Harvest 2020 strategy was launched in 2010.  The Minister said that it is now time to move on to a new 10 year planning horizon.

In order to facilitate and guide consideration of the issues which the Committee will address, DAFM and the relevant state agencies have prepared a series of background papers. These background documents, together with a questionnaire for the public consultation, are now available on the Department’s website at the following link

The composition of the Committee is as follows:

  • Chair: John Moloney
  • Helen Brophy, Director of Executive Education at UCD
  • Laura Burke (CEO and Chair) of EPA
  • Kieran Calnan, Chair of BIM
  • Michael Carey, Chair of Bord Bia
  • Vincent Carton, CEO / Managing Director, Cartons
  • Noel Cawley, Chair of Teagasc
  • Vincent Cleary, Managing Director Glenisk
  • John Comer, President of ICMSA
  • Donal Dennehy, Operations Director, Danone Ireland
  • Michael Dowling, Chairman-designate, Kerry Group PLC
  • Eddie Downey, President of IFA
  • Siobhan Egan, Senior Policy Officer, Birdwatch
  • Pat Glennon, Managing Director, Glennon Brothers
  • Jim Hanley, Chief Executive, Rosderra
  • Michael Hoey, Managing Director, Country Crest
  • John Horgan, Chief Executive, Kepak
  • Alan Jagoe, Progressive farmer
  • Caroline Keeling, Chief Executive, Keelings
  • Patrick Kent, President of ICSA
  • Kevin Lane, Chief Executive, Irish Dairy Board
  • Anna Malmhake, Chairman and CEO, Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard
  • Tom Moran, current Secretary General of the Dept of Agriculture, Food and the Marine
  • Larry Murrin, CEO of Dawn Farm Foods
  • Sean O’Donoghue, CEO of Killybegs Fishermen’s Organisation
  • Kieran O’Dowd, President of Macra Na Feirme
  • John O’Reilly, Food Analyst, Davy’s
  • Larry O’Reilly, Cereal farmer
  • Prof Dolores O’Riordan, Director of the Institute of Food and Health (UCD)
  • Terence O’Rourke, Chair of Enterprise Ireland
  • Eddie Power, Managing Director, 2 Sisters Food Group
  • Prof Paul Ross, Prof of Research (UCC)
  • Siobhan Talbot, Group Managing Director, Glanbia
  • President of ICOS (new President to be elected mid December 2014)

Terms of reference for the 2025 Agri-Food Strategy Committee

The Committee will prepare and present to the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, a draft strategy for the development of the agri-food sector for the period up to 2025. The strategy will outline the key actions required to ensure that the agri-food sector maximises its contribution to economic growth and exports in an environmentally sustainable manner over the coming decade, building on the progress achieved under Food Harvest 2020. The Committee will also be tasked with considering employment creation opportunities within the sector and advising on measures that could deliver further jobs.

The Committee’s report will be short and specific and will focus on key recommendations addressed to all the lead players in the sector. It is not expected to contain detailed analysis of the sector, but rather will draw on analysis already prepared, including the background papers available on the Department’s website at and such additional material as the Committee considers relevant. The Committee will also have access to all submissions made as part of the public consultation and to further discussion papers to be prepared by the Committee secretariat. It is expected that the draft Agri-Food 2025 Strategy will be presented to the Minister in July 2015.