2016 News Archive

Professor Da-Wen Sun Elected President of the International Academy of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (iAABE)

Tuesday, 06 December, 2016 

Professor Da-Wen Sun.

Professor Da-Wen Sun.

Professor Da-Wen Sun, UCD School of Biosystems and Food Engineering, has become the Founding President of the International Academy of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (iAABE), and has also been named a founding Fellow of iAABE. Fellowship of iAABE is the highest honour in the field of agricultural and biosystems engineering. From 2017, a maximum of 20 new Fellows will be elected every two years to the Academy.

The establishment of iAABE was initiated and proposed by Professor Sun when he served the President of the International Commission of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (CIGR) in 2013-2014. The main purpose of the Academy is to identify and recognise top individuals distinguished by their scientific and professional contributions to agricultural and biosystems engineering in the world. Currently the Academy has 33 Founding Fellows from 20 countries, consisting of previous CIGR Fellows and Past Presidents.

Professor Sun has made very significant contributions to the promotion and progression of global agricultural and biosystems engineering. He has been involved in CIGR activities since joining UCD in 1995, and has served in various key positions in the organisation, including CIGR President. At the 4th International Conference on Agricultural Engineering in 2016, he was conferred with the title of CIGR Honorary President and also presented with the CIGR Merit Award for his distinguished services during his CIGR Presidency and for his outstanding leadership in food engineering in the world.

Professor Sun is a world authority in food engineering research and education. His many scholarly works have become standard reference materials for researchers in the areas of computer vision / hyperspectral imaging, computational fluid dynamics modelling, vacuum cooling, etc. Results of his work have been published in more than 400 peer-reviewed journal papers. He is the recipient of numerous awards and honours including election to the Royal Irish Academy in 2010, selection as a Member of Academia Europaea (The Academy of Europe) in 2011 and induction as a Fellow of International Academy of Food Science and Technology in 2012.

Professor Sun was also honoured as one of the “2015 Highly Cited Researchers” and “2016 Highly Cited Researchers” by Thomson Reuters.

Further details of iAABE can be found here: