SBI Announces New Scientific Advisory Board

Written by: Maryann Kelly
Written on: Wednesday, 28 July, 2021

Systems Biology Ireland announced nine new Scientific Advisory Board members this week. The board, which has a 6-year term, has been an integral part of SBI since its inception in 2009. Past members have come from a variety of disciplines, backgrounds and nations, and the new board follows that ethos. New members were nominated by SBI group leaders and senior staff in the UCD School of Medicine.

“We’re very excited to welcome the new scientific advisory board to SBI,” said Walter Kolch, Director of SBI. “In the past, our scientific advisory boards have given invaluable advice to the centre through their expertise and unique perspectives. This new group will bring a diverse set of knowledge with them from across academia and industry, hopefully challenging us and our research as we address complex questions in oncology, inflammation, mathematical modelling, machine learning, and beyond.” 

The 2021 SBI Scientific Advisory Board members are:

  • Dr. Aedin Culhane (Harvard University, USA)
  • Prof. Steve Dubinett (UCLA Clinical & Translational Science Institute, USA)
  • Dr. Wolfgang Huber (EMBL, Germany)
  • Ms. Catherine Kelly (UPMC Whitfield, Ireland)
  • Dr. Mark Lemmon (Yale University, USA)
  • Dr. Jan Molenaar (Princess Maxima Centre for Pediatric Oncology, the Netherlands)
  • Prof. Luke O'Neill (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
  • Prof. Jesper Olsen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Dr. Samra Turajlic (Francis Crick Institute, UK)

For bios on all of the new members, please see the Scientific Advisory Board page on the SBI website. The first SBI Scientific Advisory Board meeting under the new regime will take place later this year.

Outgoing SBI Scientific Advisory Board members:

  • Brendan Buckley (ICON, Ireland)
  • Orla Cunningham (Pfizer, Ireland)
  • Anne-Claude Gavin (EMBL, Germany)
  • David Harrison (University of St Andrews, UK)
  • Philippe Sanseau (GSK, UK) 
  • Luis Serrano (CRG Barcelona, Spain)
  • Michal Simons (Yale University, USA)
  • Hans Westerhoff (University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands & University of Manchester, UK)