SPIRe 2015-16 undergraduate award winners were honoured at a school event on Wednesday, 22nd March.

Pictured (l-r): Mathieu Doogan, Alexandra Kilmartin, Prof David Farrell
Stephen O'Connell, Roisin O'Neill, Stephen Crosby and Lucie Martin

The full list of award winners is as follows:

BA Programme Scholarship 
The University Stage 2 Scholarship promotes excellence at subject level and recognises those whose engagement and quality of work has reached a very high level. It comprises the Semple Medal and a stipend of €500. It is available equally to students in all full-time BA Programmes, including the BMus. To be eligible for consideration, a minimum stage GPA of 3.4 must have been achieved with a minimum average grade point of 3.68 in the subject in question.

Laurence Childs 
Niamh Richardson
Roisin O’Neill
Sophie Becker

Brian Farrell Medal
Awarded annually to the student in Stage 1 Politics who achieves the highest GPA in the two core Stage 1 Politics modules.

Anna Blix 
Jack Heron
Roisin O’Neill
Stephen Crosby

Conor Martin Memorial Prize
This prize of up to €200 is awarded annually to the student in Stage Two Politics who achieves the highest combined grade point average in the three core Level Two Politics modules.

Alexandra Kilmartin
Mathieu Doogan 
Stephen O’Connell 

Peter Mair Award
The annual award takes the form of a letter presented to the final stage Politics student who achieves the highest stage GPA in Politics and International Relations modules.

Charlotte Amrouche

Tom Garvin Award
This is an annual award, in the form of a letter, presented to the student with the highest mark in POL 30300 Advanced Politics.

Lucie Martin 

John Whyte Essay Prize
The annual John Whyte Essay Prize is for undergraduate students participating in a course on the politics of Northern Ireland. The prize is for a ‘normally assigned’ essay and the three best essays from SPIRe are forwarded to the board of trustees before the end of June. Prizewinners are announced in September and prizes awarded at the Memorial Lecture in September.

The Fund was established in 1991 to honour the memory of John Henry Whyte who was Professor of Irish Politics at Queen's University Belfast from 1966 to 1984 and Professor of Politics at UCD from 1984 until his untimely death in May 1990.

Chloe Grier (Winner)
Mary Trainor (Commendation)