Social Science DN550

Final Year 

You must complete the following Stage 1 & 2 core modules to proceed to Final Year.

  • POL20180 Capitalism and Democracy 
  • DEV20130 Sustainable Development Goals 
  • POL20010 Individuals and the State 
  • POL20020 Comparative Politics

List of Modules 2019-20

(Draft, Subject to Change)

You choose 5 of the follwing modules in your final year. 

Autumn (Semester One)

  • INRL30020 International Justice
  • INRL30130 Internat. Political Economy
  • INRL30270 Terrorism & Political Violence
  • INRL30290 Politics of Peace and Conflict
  • POL30440 Pol Risk & Foreign Investment
  • POL30520 Environmental Pol and Policy
  • SSJ20060 Gender and Development

Spring (Semeseter Two)

  • INRL30080 Gender in War & Peace
  • INRL30190 Middle East Politics
  • POL30380 Introduction to Asian Politics
  • POL30450 Pol Activism in the Middle East
  • POL30560 Gender and Politics
  • POL30600 Addressing 21 century's Challenges

Autumn and Spring: POL30490/POL30500 Advanced Seminar in Politics. Advance applications required. See below for the details. Applications close on 1st of July 2019.

Show/hide contentOpenClose All

  • INRL10010: Foundations of Political Theory & International Relations
  • POL10160: Foundations of Contemporary Politics
  • POL20020: Comparative Politics
  • POL20050: Research Methods in Political Science
  • POL10120: Foundations in Global Development
  • DSCY10010: Global Development Goals
  • DEV20130: Sustainable Development Goals
  • INRL20160: Introduction to EU Politics
  • POL20060: Law, Politics and Human Rights
  • POL30570: New Democracy

Dave Banks


Emma Murphy


Leticia Barbabela


Jelena Radakovic


Isaac Bennett



Riya Rathore


Michael Coleman



Redmond Scales


Anna Guildea


Carl Smith


Dana Guy


Tianyang Song


Junhyoung Lee


Daniel Stairs


Jesper Lindqvist


Charlotte Thumser

DSCY10010 / DEV20130 

Marianna Lovato


Paul Turner


James MacCarthy-Morrogh


Natalia Umansky


Julia Martinez


Radek Vana


Examinations Feedback

If you wish to check your grade for each exam question, come to Room G314 Newman Building, Politics Admin Office between 10am and 4pm. (Closed for lunch between 1-2pm)

If you wish to review your script, send a request to one working day in advance.

Please include the following information.

  • Student number
  • Full name
  • Module code and name

If you wish to review your script with your lecturer:

  1. Make an appointment with him/her by sending an email. (See here for staff details)  
  2. Also send an email to so that the admin staff members will prepare your script before the appointment. Please indicate your student number, full name and the module code/name.

The Advanced Seminar in Politics 1 (POL30490) and 2 (POL30500) is a year-long course where staff members of the School of Politics and International Relations introduce students to cutting edge research in the field. During the second half of the course, students write a minor thesis, under the supervision of a staff member in the school. The module has limited capacity (c. 15 students) and entry is competitive. Registration for this course is done manually.

To be eligible to take this course, you must be a final year student who has completed Core Level 2 Politics modules. Only students with a GPA of 3.0 and above will be eligible for consideration.

Applications will be accepted from the 7th of June when provisional results get released, and the deadline for submission is Monday 1st of July 2019.

Google Application Form (Log onto UCD Connect Required)

The Conor Martin Memorial Prize

This prize of up to €200 is awarded annually to the student in Stage Two Politics who achieves the highest combined grade point average in the four core Level Two Politics modules.  The prize has been established by the friends and colleagues of the late Reverend Professor Conor Martin, who was Professor of Ethics and Politics from 1952 until his death in 1980.

2015-16 Winners: Matthieu Doogan, Alexandra Kilmartin and Stephen O'Connell

The Brian Farrell Medal

This award was established by friends and colleagues of Professor Brian Farrell who retired from UCD in 1994. It is awarded annually to the student in Stage 1 Politics who achieves the highest GPA in the two core Stage 1 Politics modules.

Professor Brian Farrell joined the administrative staff of UCD in 1955 and later became Director of Extramural Studies. From 1966, he lectured in the Department of Politics, and went on to become senior lecturer, acting head of department and associate professor. He has written and broadcast widely on the subject of politics in Ireland and is author of 'Chairman or Chief?', and 'The Founding of Dáil Éireann', as well as having a successful broadcasting career presenting programmes of comment and analysis such as Today Tonight and Prime Time. On retirement from UCD in 1994 he became Director-General of the Institute for European Affairs.

2015-16 Winners: Anna Blix, Stephen Crosby, Jack Heron and Roisin O'Neill

The Peter Mair Award

This award was set up in honour of the late Professor Peter Mair, one of Ireland’s leading political scientists. The annual award takes the form of a letter presented to the final stage Politics student who achieves the highest stage GPA in Politics and International Relations modules. 

Professor Peter Mair graduated from UCD in 1974 with an MA in politics. He then began his career at the University of Limerick. He went on to lecture at the universities of Strathclyde and Manchester before moving to the European University Institute of Florence. He was appointed professor of comparative politics at the University of Leiden, Netherlands in 1994. In 2005 he returned to Florence where he was appointed head of the department of politics and social sciences in 2007. Prof Mair specialised in the study of party and party systems and has written a number of books on the subject.

2015-16 Winner: Charlotte Amrouche

The Tom Garvin Award

This is an annual award, in the form of a letter, presented to the student with the highest mark in POL 30300 Advanced Politics.

Tom Garvin is Professor Emeritus of Political Science at University College Dublin and an alumnus of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, DC. He is a graduate of UCD with a BA in History and Politics and an MA in Politics. His PhD was awarded by the University of Georgia. He was a founding co-convenor of the Political Studies Association of Ireland from 1982 to 1984 and its first President from 1984 to 1987. In 1991 he became Professor of Politics at UCD and served as Head of Department from then until 2005. Professor Garvin boasts a large academic output including four outstanding works on Irish political life: 'The Evolution of Irish Nationalist Politics', 'Nationalist Revolutionaries in Ireland', '1922: The Birth of Irish Democracy', and 'Preventing the Future'.

2015-16 Winner: Lucie Martin

For the full list of SPIRe 2015-16 award winners click here