JP Fanagan League Div 3 (Play-off Final ) UCD U20B 24 v TULLAMORE RFC 19

02 May 2017

The sun shone from a blue sky at Kilternan as our U20B’s and Tullamore went into battle for the newly presented Dave Coughlan Cup given to the Leinster Branch by Seapoint RFC in memory of their popular member Dave Coughlan who passed away last August.

Both team had only lost one league game with Tullamore finishing on top 4 (bonus) points clear of Collidge whose only loss (38-12) was the away league game at Tullamore. More recently at Belfield in the Harry Gale Cup, Collidge were narrowly victorious 24-23.

Playing with a slight breeze Collidge’s early pressure paid off and Jack O’Donnell slotted a penalties in the 6th and 15th minutes (6-0)

Tullamore began then to make ground inside the Collidge and were rewarded as would-be tacklers missed their targets and the Tullamore winger went in for a converted try and the lead (6-7). They went further ahead with another try on 33 minutes (6-12). Collidge responded well though and reduced the deficit with a 47th minute Jack O’Donnell penalty. Half-time: UCD 9  Tullamore 12

Despite fading somewhat in the 2nd quarter Collidge came roaring back at the start of the second period thanks in no small measure to the introduction of back rower Robert Hughes. The big Englishman put in some huge hits and carried very effectively. Captain Faolan Crowe then led by example going over beside the posts for a converted try to put Collidge back into the lead (16-12). Collidge went further ahead 9 minutes later (21-12) when the impressive Jack Binchy scored after another thundering burst from Hughes inside the Tullamore 22.


A late Tullamore penalty try (21-19) provided some anxious moments for Collidge supporters before Donnchad Reilly put the result beyond doubt with an 84th minute penalty. Full-time: UCD 24 Tullamore 19.

This win is a just reward for the hard work of Head Coach Charlie Doel and his assistants Ian Dumbledon and Stephen Shallow .. well done to all three!

UCD: 15 Donnchad Reilly; 14 Ian McCormack; 13 Tim WU Murphy; 12 Seamus Fox; 11 Adam Doyle; 10 Jack O’Donnell; 1 Eric Giannitrapani; 2 Kevin White; 3 Niall Magee; 4 Jack Binchy; 5 Kieran Matthew Simpson; 6 Conor Scully; 7 Max Vidal; 8 Faolan Crowe. Replacements: 16 Alex Holmes; 17 Mark Graham; 18 Robert Hughes; 19 Niall Yore; 20 Cormac Phelan; 21 Ryan O’Connor; 22 Tirnan Forde.