UCD GAA announces new sponsorship deal with AIB

06 Oct 2017

The jersey reveal, designed by GAA Development Officer Josh Warde, and sponsorship announcement which took place at UCD's Campus Branch in Belfield, was attended by a number of recent All Ireland medal winners including Dublin's Jack McCaffrey and Limerick U21 All Ireland winner Seamus Flanagan as well as those who unfortunately took home a runners up medal this year including Waterford’s Hurling star Tadgh De Burca and Mayo’s Stephen Coen.

aib jersey release 3

Also attending the event was AIB Campus branch Manager, Maeve Lavin who was delighted to continue supporting the students and UCD GAA in what has been not only a longstanding sponsorship but a strong, successful and a mutually beneficial relationship.

This is AIB’s 25th year in association with the GAA, a partnership AIB are especially proud of along with the long-term sponsorship of the AIB All-Ireland Club Championships.

Eddie Buckley, Head of AIB Dublin South was delighted with the new deal and with AIB “Backing Club and County”, he felt this new sponsorship announcement was particularly fitting. With so many of these exceptional student athletes representing their clubs and counties throughout the year, they now battle it out on their College playing field to claim the title of #TheToughest. 

aib jersey release

Finally speaking at the event was Head of UCD GAA, Ger Brennan who thanked AIB for all their support over the years and confirmed that the clubs success including the 2016 Sigerson Cup and O’Connor Cup wins would not have been achieved without AIB’s support and that he hoped UCD GAA and AIB continue this partnership for many years to come.

Present at the event was:

Footballers Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Stephen Coen (Mayo), Jack Barry (Kerry), Eoghan McGrath (Mayo); Hurlers Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford), Darragh Houlaghan (Kilkenny), Podge Guinan (Offaly), Seamus Flanagan (Limerick); Ladies Footballers Martha Byrne (Dublin), Sarah Gormally (Galway), Nicola Warde (Galway), Sarah Molly Cully (Wicklow); Camogie Laura Murphy (Kilkenny), Ciara Murphy (Kilkenny), Alex Griffin (Dublin); Handball: Clodagh Nash (Clare).

aib jersey release 2

By Georgina Dwyer, UCD Sport