UCD AFC are top of the class to secure promotion!

30 Nov 2021

The UCD Soccer club overcame a tough promotion/relegation campaign to claim a spot in next year’s Airtricity League Premier Division. Beating Waterford 2-1 in the final stages last Friday in Richmond Park, the club will next year now take a seat at the top table. 

The first round of the campaign saw UCD shock Limericks Treaty United in a two leg playoff. Despite losing the second leg 1-2 at home, UCD put on a show at Marketsfield winning 3-0 away.

UCD then faced Bray Wanderers in Dalymount Park, as so often the case this season, U21 International Colm Whelan proved the match winner for UCD as a stunning free-kick goal and a sublime assist, UCD won 2-0 on the night and earned a promotion/relegation play-off against Waterford.  

Dara Keane and Colm Whelan, who ironically began their careers with Waterford, did the damage on the night, scoring UCD’s goals to give Andy Myler his first major win as manager. Andy, who is also Head of Customer and Management Services for UCD Estate Services commented on how proud he was on his team on the night and what a fantastic group of “hungry, grounded, humble young men” he had and it was a wonderful night for the players, their families and the club!


“It's been a long year... but everything we did this year was worth it,” said UCD AFC captain Jack Keaney after the match.

“We just wanted to show what we were made... and thankfully we did. Once we got that first goal, we settled. The boys up front did us wonders and then we defended magically at the end.”



UCD: Lorcan Healy; Michael Gallagher; Harvey O’Brien; Sam Todd; Evan Osam; Jack Keaney; Liam Kerrigan; Dara Keane; Sean Brennan; Paul Doyle (Mark Dignam 90); Colm Whelan.

Subs: Carl Williams; Luke Boore; Mark Dignam; Danu Kinsella Bishop; Ciarán Behan; Adam Lennon; Eoin Farrell; Adam Verdon; Evan Caffrey.

Waterford: Brian Murphy; Darragh Power (Niall O’Keeffe HT); Kyle Ferguson (Shane Griffin 63); Eddie Nolan; Jack Stafford (Ronaldo Green 86); Anthony Wordsworth; Cameron Evans; John Martin; Junior Quitirna; Phoenix Patterson; Greg Halford.

Subs: Matthew Connor; George Forrest; Shane Griffin; Niall O’Keefe; Jeremie Milambo; Ronaldo Green; Isaac Tshipamba; Callum Stringer; Jamal Dupree.