The Five Munsters

Author: J. H. Lloyd

An electronic edition

view the header | view the Irish text

p. 51.


1. [There are] five Munsters in great Munster [= all Munster
is subdivided into five], as I hear from every bardic company.
I know how it is divided - indeed I ought to know - yonder in
your wise valiant country.

2. Thomond [a territory] not scanty in battalions [extends]
from Cuchulinn’s stony Leap to Slighe Dála of the steeds -;
there chances to be at its side a lake.

3. The breadth of Thomond from the north I shall relate to
them in a laudatory poem: from Sliabh Aichtghi to noble
Sliabh Eibhlinne, such is the distribution of it as compared with
the whole of Ireland.

4. From pleasant Bernán Eile Ormond [extends] to Oilén
Hi Bhric, [and] from Gabhrán to beautiful Cnámhchoill - there
is the clearly and cleverly delimited well-known division.

5. From Cnámhchoill to full-landed Luachair [extends] Mid-Munster,
the constant winner of victories, [and] from where
Sliabh Eibhlinne is pleasantly situated to Sliabh Caoin of the
difficult passes.

6. Desmond [extends] from Sliabh Caoin of the clans to the
sea beside the waves, [and] West Munster from Luachair westwards
to the valley in the west at which Drong is.

7. Breasal O’Treasaigh, from whom are sprung the Uí
Treasaigh - they are not a backward race -; the celebrated
majestic-haired scion of great size, ’tis he that discovered the
division into five.

© 2006 Thesaurus Linguae Hibernicae

Close this window