Student Summer Research Awards 2014

Student Summer Research Awards 2014

Our congratulations to Caroline Moran, Jennifer Doyle and John Murtagh winners of the UCD Student Summer Research Awards (SSRA) Gold, Silver and Bronze medals respectively. All three fought off intense competition from eight finalist in the oral presentations which took place in UCD Fitzgerald Chamber on Thursday 2nd October 2014. 

The eight finalists where selected from over 75 poster presentations by UCD BHLS, Medicine and Radiography students which document their 8 week supervised summer research projects.

Now in its eight year, the Student Summer Research programme encourages, supports and rewards excellence in student research. The initiative, which enables students of medicine, radiography and biomedical health and life sciences to undertake structured, voluntary research during the summer months, brings to life the School's commitment to foster in our students a passion for enquiry and discovery and investigative research.

Students undertake eight-week supervised laboratory or clinical-based projects in Ireland or overseas at one of our partner institutions. Participation provides students with invaluable experience in the area of investigative medical science, and is consistent with the School's ambition to produce not just exceptional healthcare practitioners, but also life-long learners and world-class medical researchers.

As in previous years, the 2014 programme also offered students the opportunity to undertake a supervised project in conjunction with one of our partner charities/NGOs. This aspect of the programme is an important feature of the School’s Patient and Advocate Centred Education (PACE) Initiative.

Adjudication Evening

On Tuesday 23rd September 2014, 74 students gathered in front of their poster boards at UCD Charles Institute of Dermatology to present their research to review panels of faculty. Each student presented their methodology, research journey and findings to a group of judges that included senior professors, clinicians, researchers and health professionals from every part of the School's extensive teaching and clinical network.

‌This intensive session, overseen by Mr Paul Harkin (Chair, Adjudication Panel) and Dr Amanda McCann (SSRA Programme Leader), demands of our students the ability to communicate both the process and the context of their chosen research project. Our judging panel was provided with a clear brief: identify eight exceptional young researchers to go forward to the final on 2nd October 2014.

Speaking at the event, Mr Paul Harkin, Director of Strategic Development said:

The SSRA Competition is undoubtedly a highlight in the School's academic calendar.  It is the hard work, commitment and dedication of our students and the support of academic staff that make this event so worthwhile.  Students get to witness the research process from the early excitement as the research hypothesis is outlined, the painstaking frustration as data is gathered, tested and re-affirmed through to the quiet satisfaction of a job well done with conclusions positive or negative.

The panel selected the following students as SSRA 2014 finalists:

Thanks & Acknowledgements

Thanks and Acknowledgments

We are indebted to our two Master of Ceremonies, Dr Amanda McCann and Prof Cormac Taylor who managed the proceedings with their customary aplomb.  We acknowledge Ms Niamh McCarthy and Ms Ciara Ruttledge for their administrative support throughout the 2014 Competition and to Ms Elaine Quinn and Ms Suzanne Hayden who provided specialist communication and presentation skills training to our students.

The School also thanks the panel of judges who adjudicated at the Oral Presentations

  • Prof Ronan O'Connell (Chair)
  • Prof Ronan Cahill
  • Prof Gerry Wilson
  • Prof Cormac Kilty
  • Dr Jason Last
  • Dr Claire O'Connell
  • Dr Cecily Quinn
  • Dr Walter Cullen
  • Mr Paul Harkin

We would also like to thank the many academic staff who took part in the Research Poster Adjudications including the Group Chair and the eight individual Review Panel Chairs.

  • Mr Paul Harkin (Chair)
  • Dr Katherine Howell
  • Prof Niall Tubridy
  • Dr Eoin Ó Cearbhaill
  • Dr Eoin Cummins
  • Prof Donal Buggy
  • Dr Sean Ennis
  • Dr Louise Rainford
  • Dr Peter Holloway



A full stock of free-to-use imagery from SSRA 2014 is available from the School's Flickr account.

Research Poster Presentations

Research Oral Presentations