Excellence of UCD staff recognised by student nominations for teaching awards

Pictured above: at the Teaching and Learning Award ceremony at Ardmore House, left to right, stairs: Dr Fionnuala Dillane, UCD School of English, Drama and Film; Mr Cesar Scrochi, Ms Emma Howard, Mr Daniel Giles &  Dr Anthony Cronin, the Maths Support Centre Tutor Team, Mr James McDermott, UCD School of Law; Dr Vincent Hargaden, UCD School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering; Dr Thomas Grund, UCD School of Sociology and Dr James Matthews, UCD School of Public Health, Physiotherapy and Sports; Front row: Dr Paul Perry, UCD School of English Drama and Film; Assoc Professor Emma Sokell, UCD School of Physics; Dr Monica Gorman, UCD School of Agriculture and Food Science; Dr Suzanne Egan, UCD School of Law; Registrar and Deputy President Professor Mark Rogers, Dr Aideen Quilty, UCD School of School of Social Policy, Social Work and Social Justice, Assoc Professor Niamh Moore-Cherry, UCD School of Geography and Dr Niamh Nestor, UCD Student Adviser attached to Veterinary Medicine.

At the beginning of 2017, UCD launched two new award schemes. Teaching Excellence awards recognise individual faculty and staff in teaching roles for sustained commitment to teaching excellence and student learning. Awards for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning recognise individuals or teams including faculty, staff, tutors or demonstrators who have made outstanding contributions to student learning in a specific area. The new award schemes seek to highlight the value and importance that the University places on high-quality teaching, learning, assessment and curriculum design.

This new scheme allowed students to nominate teachers for the first time. Nominations made by 1,400 students at UCD have been central to a new process by which 12 members of the University’s teaching staff and one team have received Teaching and Learning Awards in recognition of their professional excellence.

The College of Health and Agricultural Sciences are delighted to have three winners amongst their ranks; Dr James Matthews from the School of Public health, Physiotherapy and Sports Science, Dr Niamh Nestor from the School of Veterinary Medicine and Dr Monica Gorman from the School of Agriculture and Food Science. Congratulations!