School heads of teaching and learning

Each school is represented by a school head of teaching and learning or an associate dean for teaching and learning at their respective college teaching and learning committee. In addition they meet as a group twice a year to address issues and share developments in teaching and learning across the University. The discussions and outcomes of these meetings impact on university policy and the teaching and learning work programme. School level appointments to these roles are made by the head of school.  For more information on the principal duties and responsibilities of school heads of teaching and learning, consult the School Head of Teaching and Learning - Role Descriptor updated in 2018.

The school heads of teaching and learning are listed below:

SchoolNameEmail Address
Clinton Institute for American Studies Dr Eugenio Lilli
School of Art History and Cultural Policy Dr Philip Cottrell
School of Classics Dr Martin Brady
School of English, Drama and Film Assoc Prof Rebecca Stephenson
School of History Assoc Prof Michael Staunton 
School of Irish, Celtic Studies and Irish Folklore Mr Eoin McEvoy
School of Languages, Cultures and Linguistics Dr Sabine Strumper-Krobb
School of Music Dr Jaime Jones


Subject Area 
Accounting                                                      Dr John McCallig
Banking and Finance Dr Vassilios Papavassiliou
HRM/ER Dr Maria Belizon
Management Assoc Prof Paul McGrath
Marketing Dr Geertje Schuitema
MIS Assoc Prof Peter Keenan
School of Architecture, Planning and Environmental Policy Dr Oliver Kinnane
School of Chemical and Bioprocess Engineering Dr Ioscani Jimenez Del Val
School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering Dr William Smith
School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Dr Mark Flanagan
School of Biosystems and Food Engineering Professor Nick Holden
School of Civil Engineering Dr Daniel McCrum
Subject Area
School of Agriculture and Food Science Assoc Prof Aine Ni Dhubhain
School of Medicine

Assoc Prof Jonathan McNulty

Assoc Prof Suzanne Donnelly

School of Nursing, Midwifery and Health Systems Dr Carmel Davies
School of Public Health, Physiotherapy and Sports Science Dr James Matthews
School of Veterinary Medicine Dr Susan Rackard



Subject Area
School of Archaeology Dr Neil Carlin
School of Economics Dr Sarah Parlane
School of Education Dr Shane Bergin
School of Geography Dr Ainhoa Gonzalez del Campo
School of Information & Communication Studies Dr Judith Wusteman
School of Law Prof Gavin Barrett
School of Philosophy Dr Daniel Deasy

Prof James O'Shea

School of Politics & International Relations Assoc Prof Jos Elkink
School of Psychology Assoc Prof Louise McHugh
School of Social Policy, Social Work and Social Justice Dr Dorota Szelewa
School of Sociology Assoc Prof Thomas Grund


Subject Area
School of Biology and Environmental Science Assoc Prof Mary Kelly-Quinn
School of Biomolecular & Biomedical Science Prof John O'Connor
School of Chemistry Dr Eoghan McGarrigle
School of Computer Science Mr John Dunnion
School of Earth Sciences Assoc Prof Julian Menuge
School of Physics Assoc Prof Emma Sokell
School of Mathematics and Statistics Assoc Prof Maria Meehan